An Eco unschooling village would like to be born - reawake an abandoned dreamlike village in south Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 1182 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ciao caro Workawayer :)
    We are Aiini (6), So (36 - Swiss) and Babuin (44 - German) a dog, some cats & friends, and a DREAM :)

    The idea is it to reawake our nearly abandoned but really dreamlike medieval village in Calabria in the south of Italy and create with some young families an ECO unschooling village.

    Although we are just at the beginning, we have already found some families, willing to settle here and got a lot of ideas. There are some ruins we can build up, some nice cheap houses to be rented and also abandoned gardens/olives groves or land from the municipality for using. The potential to create a near-by-nature unschooling-community is almost unlimited ... but also the work ... so we need helping hands and sympathizers which would like to help us creating a place for lucky children :)

    tags: unschooling, homeschooling, worldschooling, Freilerner, Montessori, Célestin Freinet, vegan, permaculture, farming, gardening, sun gazing, green building

    (a-cielo-aperto).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you can
    - enjoy the beautiful area, weather, sea, food, people, ...

    or

    - learn Italian, German, French, English
    - learn how to restore old stone-houses
    - learn how to build natural stone walls
    - learn again to live in tune with the nature
    - learn again to play like a child

    ... or maybe you will celebrate with us
    - cooking
    - talking
    - swimming
    - sitting at the fire
    - walking
    - ...


    Life is learning and learning is life!

  • Help

    Help

    You can help us to:

    - spend your time with the youngster on the beach, showing them your perspective of the world, trekking to the waterfall in the mountains, helping finding their answer to their questions,...
    - form places for lucky kids (workshops, creativity rooms, playground, tree houses,...)
    - restauration of old houses and ruins - all trades
    - recultivate abandoned olive groves and gardens
    - terrace construction with natural stones
    - cooking, house keeping, making the shoppings to the weekly market and, generally, handle the day-to-day tasks
    - form places for lucky animals
    - create new ideas for the project or simply beeing a part of the project and stay here for longer :)
    - ...


    In the autumn:
    picking olives and making oil
    picking grapes and making wine in the traditional way by feet-pressing

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    nativ italian & german - good english & french & a bit spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you'll get of course ...
    - free living in your own room or a simple house
    - free fresh bio vegan food
    - free WiFi
    - free sun
    - free Ionian sea
    - free experiences
    - free stillness
    - free old-school-Italian-style
    - ...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During the time when you be fed up from helping, you can enjoy the amazing landscape or beaches near by, visit historical spots in the region, go hiking and visit nice waterfalls or the wildness in the mountains.

    Self made wine, olive oil, olives, dried tomatoes, ... are waiting for you too. And in the autumn you can also make everything by your own :)

    The closest airport is "Lamezia Terme" (Easyjet, Ryanair, ... ).
    You can also come by bus or train and we pick you up.

    Sunny greetings

    Eiini, So e Babuin

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (4.3)










Host ref number: 468867971922