Ecological outpost in the Åland Islands

Country

Finland

Favourited 452 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In the heart of the Scandinavian Islands we're driving an ecological project focussing on selfsufficiency. We are a small family of 3 with a lot of different animals (dogs, cat, chicken, bees and our neighbours donkeys and horses).

    In summer when the days are long and full of light, we have so much to do that we are happy to welcome any kind of help. Besides the main activity in the garden, there are also lots of other activities like renovating and building projects.

    Hasslebo is located on the small island of Kumlinge (250 inhabitants) in the outer archipelago of the Åland Islands.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both from Germany and live on a pretty little island which belongs to Finland, where all the people are speaking swedish :) So already some cultural insights possible, also our guests come from all over the world and are happy to have a talk in between.

  • Help

    Help

    During the summer we welcome volunteers to help us with a lot of activities including general maintenance of the house, our huge garden and sometimes a little babysitting (our son Kilian is currently 10 months old) - typical works are cleaning, cooking, grassclipping, all kinds of maintenance.

    Additionally, we are preparing several "construction sites" indoor and outdoor to improve our situation here (e.g. building a new sauna). These activities will also take place before and after the "high season" (june - august) so you can contact us regarding those months as well.

    There's lot of flexibility in working, no fixed schedule.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Deutsch, English, Svenska

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have a little camper van for your own to live in (max. 2 persons) and one XL-size tent. Both have beds and electricity. Common meals - typically but not always vegetarian. Please tell us if you have special requirements for meals and/or allergies of any kind.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You'll have time to discover the archipelago both by bicycle or by kayak. We can take you with us if we are about to make 1-day-trips to other islands or to the main land (Mariehamn) to go shopping there or some place else.

    Next airports Stockholm (Sweden), Helsinki, Turku and Tampere (all Finnish mainland). Different ferry connections both from Sweden and from Finland to the Åland Islands. We'll help you planning your trip.

    We have two dogs (both friendly and cute) and a cat - please tell us in advance if you have any allergies or are afraid of dogs, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max. 5 hours per day, 5 days the week

Real Country girls
Our doggie girl Angua - she loves being cuddled
apple juice - the traditional way
valborg - walpurgis night
traditional scandinavian red
no adventure, no fun
peace & quiet
born to be wild
Estonian style
the sunny side of the archipelago
moose visiting our garden
the old Viking's harbour
coffee time
discovering the islands
Kumlinge rocks
our smallscaled camping area
bananas on tour
Hasslebo - our place

















Host ref number: 466677736433