Join our family and help with our daughters near Egilsstadir, East Iceland

  • Favourited 97 times
  • Last activity: 15 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello dear workaway :) We are a family of four. A couple in our thirtes, a 5 year old daughter and a daughter born in oktober 2022. We live in a farm in the east side of Iceland, 36 km away from Egilsstadir. In our farm we have around 500 sheeps and 4 shepherd dogs. The female in the househould is a registered social worker (Freyja), working in child protection with the social services in Egilsstadir. The male in the household´s main job is farming ( Bergþór) . Our 4yo (Hólmfríður) attends kindergarden every weekday from 9-16, Freyja is currently on maternety leave from her social work job.
    Surrounding our farm, are mountains, and a river runs next to our property. There are opportunitys to hike all around us, and we own a lake in our land where it is possible to fish.
    In Egilsstadir, there are grocarie stores, café, swimming pool, gym and other most basic services needed for everyday living. It takes around 30 minutes to drive to Egilsstadir.

    When there is time off from lambing season, hay gathering and sheep gathering we will try to do some renovations / maintenance on our house and ask our workaway for assistance with the renovations, if the person in question is interested in that as well :)

    There are no requirements for workawayers to carry out working farm tasks.

    We have openings / room for a workawayer to join the family in two periods in the spring / summer.
    We would prefer a workaway to stay with us from the middle of april until the middle of - or end of june.
    And another position we have is from beginning of july until end of september.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In our farm you would be experiencing farming in an Icelandic sheapsfarm and have a lot of opportunities to enjoy nature in a peacefull surrounding. There are many waterfalls in the area. In the east part of Iceland there are a few small towns / villages that are interesting to visit. In one of them, there are puffins during the summer months.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Helping around the house, household cleaning, babysitting, walking our dogs, general maintainance and such, possibly cooking.

    To have someone that’s confident with children and can look after our older daughter if we are outside working at the farm is important. That is the main help that we need right now.

    Longer stays are prefered (2-3 months at a time), but it's not a dealbreaker if it's not an option.

    The hours pr. day where help is needed is different, depending on the seasonal projects (how busy the parents are on farming work);
    - In may, there is lambing season, where there will be a lot of help needed with our daughter and chores (sutch as cooking / keeping the kitchen clean / maybe laundry). Both spouses will be working at home in may, but the 4yo might attend kindergarden, we would ask our workaway to drive her there and pick her up again. Driving to Egilsstadir takes around 30 minutes each way.
    - In june we let our sheeps up to the mountains ( still help needed with our daughter and light housework, but less intense than in may).
    - In july and august we gather hay for our sheeps for winter. Our older daughter has a few weeks time off kindergarden and help is needed with her when the weather is good and we are gathering hay.
    - In september and octobern as we gather the sheeps from the mountains, and bring them back home. We will need help with babysitting, housework and cooking in that period.


    There are no requirements for workawayers to carry out working farm tasks.

    Drivers licence is necessary!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    Danish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 5 bedroom house. Our workaway will have a private bedroom. There is only one bathroom in the house. We will provide all the meals for our workaway, and offer shared meals with the family. We have internet, washer/drier bathtub and a shower, TV and Netflix. All general toiletries are provided. Just as a note we mostly cook and eat meat products, many of which we make ourselves (lamb/sheep meat).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a car our workaway can have access to. There are buses that go back and forth from Egilsstaðir to most parts of Iceland. It is allso possible to fly from Reykjavík to Egilsstaðir, and we could pick you up from there.

    Only the male of the household smokes, and only outside of the house.
    Our schedule, and there for hours that we need assistance from our workaway is different regarding witch farming projects are in each season ( how busy we are). Please feel free to ask us any questions you might have.
    We reccomend google-ing Seydisfjordur, Reydarfjordur, Egilsstadir, Borgarfjordur eystri to see more about the small towns / villages close by. We allso have Vök baths close to Egilsstadir (google Vök baths).
    There is a gym and a swimming pool in Egilsstaðir.
    We own a treadmill that you are free to use if you like :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    1-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 464495824929

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Helping with animals at big sheepfarm in Bardastrond, Iceland
Help a family of four in Sandgerði, Iceland