Enjoy the northern lights while helping us around our home in Narvik, Norway




Favourited 175 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    If you like nature and animals, but wish to keep some contact with the civilization this will be perfect for you.
    We are two friends living in Narvik (northern Norway) about 45 min drive from each other. We both love and have animals. Me: an adopted blind dog and five rescued guinea pigs. Bente (my friend) three dogs and some wild moose :-).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is mainly up to you :-) I am used to people from various backgrounds and cultures as I was active hosting travelers (couchsurfing) and traveled quite a bit myself. You can learn Norwegian if you wish and I can happily share with you my experience with moving to and living in Norway, as well as my travel stories, if you are interested. Bente is also very interesting to talk to as well as having great interest in other cultures.
    There is an abundance of opportunities for hiking, skiing and fishing right outside the door.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    I need mainly help with the piggies, as I am allergic to their fur, and some cooking. In winter, I would ask you to move the snow, if it is necessary and in summer to mow the lawn (once a month). When I am travelling I would like you to take care of the house and animals (including the dog), so you need to be an animal lover.
    Bente needs help mainly in the not-winter period - different tasks on her property.
    You don't need any special skills but a big heart for the animals and people around you.
    Edit: I kind of expect workawayers to know how to properly use a vacuum cleaner, mop and stove.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    I am living in the town close to everything, but still in a very quiet area, close to the shore. You will have your own bedroom and share the rest of the house with me.
    Bente lives outside Narvik in the mountains, at the end of a valley called Råndalen. Very beautiful place 45 min drive from Narvik. When you wish to stay some days in the woods with Bente, you will have your own room and bathroom. We will provide you with transport.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have great experience as a couchsurfing host, so I am used to meting new people and having them in my house.
    When I came two Norway I was staying 1,5 years with a Norwegian family as aupair, so I also know it from that side.
    I would like you to stay at least one month, but if it works for both of us you can stay as long if you wish.
    If you are two that want to travel together, probably we can arrange for that.
    No smoking at home.
    Just ask if you have any questions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)

Host ref number: 463933473738