Help a french family with renovating an old house in the south west of France and live a french rural family experience in Cours-Les-Bains area.

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a french family with 3 children (12, 5, 1). We live in the middle of the forest, in a big old house we have been renovating for 10 years. As we love travelling (but we don't have enough time for it lately...) we thought that hosting foreign volunteers could give us the opportunity of a cultural exchange while finishing the house renovation ! Please note that the house is in the forest, there is no neighbours around, so be ready for a rural experience ! As we both work, you may be alone sometimes.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very interested in travelling and cultural exchange, so you would be welcome to talk about you and your country. In here, you will experience a french family life, including french cooking ;). We can teach specific skills in eco-building. Working time should be discussed (for example 2 full days working and 2 full days off + weeked, so you can have time to visit our country !)

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with the work on the house, that means masonry, plaster, painting, but also gardening, cutting wood etc. Besides, we can ask for a little help in the house or with the kids. We also would love to pratice english, spanish or russian ! Please tell us what you can do !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English and a little spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room :
    You will have a king size bed on a mezzanine above the living room. There is privacy but please note it's not closed. Bathroom and toilets shared.
    If you prefer to sleep separately (friends or family for example), we also have a double sofa-bed nearby on the mezzanine.
    When first part of renovation on the house is achieved, you'll have your own bedroom, bathroom and toilets.

    Board :
    We will provide meals, either family meals or food you can cook yourself if we are not home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bordeaux city is one hour driving (or bus + train), first wineyards need 30 min. Bazas (Medieval town) and Casteljaloux (Medieval and Spa town), 2 nice touristic towns are 10-15 min driving. Forest is all around you can have a walk anytime of the day ! Having your own car is important if you don't want to feel too isolated and stuck in the forest (more than 3km to reach the first villagewith foodstore), but if you don't mind staying home, walking or bicycle, it should be fine for you :). We can provide rides whenever we go to work for example.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

In the winter
Family

Host ref number: 463262554889