A Peaceful, Quiet Place with Cats in a small city. USA

Country

United States

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I strive for joyful relationships, clear boundaries, and healthy communication (NVC/non-violent communication). I believe each of us is a student and each of us is a teacher, and the way we treat others has long-term effect in the world. Every interaction starts a ripple of some kind, so we do best to act in kindness and integrity.
    I have completed formal training programs in Permaculture Design, gardening, empowerment coaching, massage therapy, and food safety & preservation. My current plans include a lengthy Random Acts of Kindness and Senseless Beauty Road Trip, so I'll be using Workaway and other sites to find hosts, as well as hosting travelers when I'm at home.
    Top priorities for me are restoring my once beautiful yard to it's pre-Mom-Care days and converting my Sprinter van into a glorious home away from home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What you might learn depends on what you know already. At my home you might (if you're interested) learn how to properly load a dishwasher. Surprisingly few people know how to do this... LOL (though I'm not really kidding). Apparently, my childhood home was a model of housekeeping efficiency, but don't worry: my house is a pretty relaxed place. As an adult I'm only strict regarding food safety (about which I am very knowledgeable) and people cleaning up after themselves. I also have a lot of general knowledge stuffed in my brain, so you never know what might come out. Before the internet, I was "the internet" for my friends.

    Eugene is a wonderful, small city with a lot of cultural events going on almost any night of the week. Whatever scene you're interested in exploring, I can probably point you to some resources to get connected. I am active in the sustainability/Permaculture movement here as well as an acting/writing/performance groups (No Shame Eugene & Poetry Slam) and a vibrant spiritual community (Unity of the Valley). In the past, I also worked with a group that provides Wilderness Rites of Passage for youth and adults. During the summer, I go kayaking (floating, not white water) or tubing or swimming frequently, or for a hike/camping in the mountains. During the winter, the coast is great for hiking when the mountains are full of snow.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a large home and a huge yard that always needs work when I return from my travels, so when I'm home I enjoy hosting world-travelers with a love of gardening and other skills, like home repair or maintenance. In particular, in late Spring/Summer 2019, I hope to host someone who can help me get my irrigation system back in order.

    My home is in good condition, but as all home-owners know: there's always something that needs to be done. I also recently purchases a Sprinter van which I want to convert into a camper, so construction/engineering/electrical/solar skills would be very welcome!

    I enjoy working side-by-side with my helpers, but can't always do that, so I need people who are 1) self-motivated when I'm not around 2) good at following directions and 3) not shy about asking questions when they are uncertain about something. Sometimes I need someone to take care of my kitties while I'm away on shorter trips.

    I don't require that you work every day. If you work a long day, you could have the next day off, or if you work two long days, you could take the next three days off. I want people to follow through on their work commitments AND have fun while they're here!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Some Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    NO SMOKING of any kind is allowed on my property or within sight of it. I do NOT host people who smoke cigarettes. on or off my property. If I smell cigarettes on your hair or clothing, I will ask you to leave. I don't care if you smoke marijuana elsewhere, as long as I can't smell it on you.

    Usually I can arrange a private sleeping area for guests, either a private bedroom or in the sun room. You would be sharing my bathroom (in the hall). I do not eat "all organic." I can't afford it. If you have to have all organic, vegan, or any other specialty diet, you'll generally need to purchase your own food & prepare most of your own meals--though with some preplanning we can shop & prep specific meals together. We can make an adjustment in the number of hours you work. Meals are sporadic at my house, but there's always food around. If you're a flexitarian you should do fine. I enjoy cooking together & learning about how other people eat.

    Though I'm new to the Workaway site, on other online help platforms, I can point you to my pages on those sites.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Eugene is know for its progressive people, LGBTQ friendliness, tiny houses, natural healing practitioners, ecstatic dance community and people living in hippy buses on the street (one with a chickens coop on the roof). When we're not working, I love to share all the things I love about my city with visitors. Beautiful mountains are only an hour to the west and our scenic coast is only an hour away to the west. My house is 4.5 miles from the downtown. There is a bus stop 1/4 mile from my house that takes 12 minutes to the city center. Sometimes my bike is in working order and you can borrow it. Anyone out there a whiz at tuning up bicycles? ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 461714333412