Help and stay on a farm in the Highlands of Scotland with Hairy Highland Cattle & Visitors (not to be confused! ;-))

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 978 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    72  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Here?
    - well- it's the Highlands of Scotland in the middle of mountains overlooking the valley of the river Spey. It’s only five miles from the Newtonmore though, with pubs, shops and mainline travel to and from Edinburgh & Glasgow. I and you guys (ie Workawayers:-)) run a farm breeding Highland Cattle with accommodation.
    I need help with these and with mini-enterprises such as language teaching, the Hairy Cow Experiences, the ‘Highland Hug’ (for cows! ;-)) so I need help with marketing, publicity and general enterprise development.
    So this is important but of course it's coupled with all the usual farm and maintenance jobs and a good healthy lifestyle in a beautiful place.
    Of course in the end it's all about our exchange as people; so all the different projects take place in a social environment that encourages ideas about living, a creative and artistic approach to the world, and a supportive attitude to each other's issues and aspirations!

    My favourite recreation is mountain walks - set off from the farm and just ask yourself 'How Long?- 40 minutes, 2 hours, 4 hours, 8,10? You probably won't see another human being in that time -just heather and hills, grouse and deer, old tracks and stone walls, sky, space and distances.
    This year 2019 we aim to build a hammockry --yes a place for cheap overnights for people walking by - built using traditional post-and-beam carpentry techniques. Neat hey?:-) Update: - O we did that!! - still work to do though!

    There are other options too for helping out (according to season) -
    Fixing fences - good for building strength!
    Tending pastures to bring on good grass and reduce weeds..you'll develop a great tennis backhand slashing thistles!
    General maintenance of buildings inside and out - (mostly depending on the weather!).
    Help with guests: - that is, all the various and exciting visitors who come to stay in the bunkhouse.
    So cleaning, washing and ironing is part of the deal ..yes you male persons -for you too! ;-)

    Now I also love to go to the French Pyrénées where I am also developing a small farm..so you might well like the opportunity to spend time there as well?

    DECEMBER 2019 UPDATE
    Animals:
    3 week old Niki Fig has had a rough patch and is still needing to be bottle fed at least twice a day cos mum Demi-Og doesn’t have much milk.
    The summer babies born to Abbie & Ban Larla are being weaned so they get lots of attention while being schooled to the halter & hand fed.
    Visitors are booking up to be introduced to the Hairy Cow Experience over the holiday.
    Accommodation:
    The Hairy Studio needs changing over every few days..( but it’s only for a couple, so pretty quick)
    The Crofthouse gets busy over the holiday, with lots of cheery folk around!

    ..and the Nog demands walks - whatever the weather!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I love sharing with travellers from around the world: we eat together so end up discussing everything from French food production, to Catalonian/Spanish politics, to best Scottish comedies. In terms of tasks we try to find work that I need doing that also suits you to learn --so you might get allocated something specific like: limewash maintenance, carpentry, pasture management, fencing ..ie. something that you can make your own,, and see results to take pride in!
    I'm particularly interested in people who want a long stay..and even look after the place when I'm away....making it their own, kind of...maybe rehearsing a lifestyle...?

  • Help

    Help

    I don't specify what or how much - what's the point? -- you are volunteers after all. I look for people who want to help - and try to find work that helps you as well as me.
    Most of the work relates to the animals, accommodation and outdoor maintenance...er..or indoor if it's raining ! If you can use tools so much the better..but we can all learn, hey? Always keen for improvements in marketing &c. as well..

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English French a little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained twin room in Roundhouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a great area for recreation in the Cairngorms National Park - but outdoors - not urban.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    You get to chose work/leisure balance

The bunkhouse/language school is on the left - the roundhouse is where we meet for meals.
Grown from the rock - Nope!- built it myself. Still building in fact.
Friend Cathy helping me out - unlike the Nog..
Words wouldn't add much...
Nothing more soothing than Highlanders at ease in the place they belong.
The farm looks east towards the dawn (also west!)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









































Host ref number: 461449731416