Tropical gardening and property maintenance in Bocas del Toro, Panama




Favourited 129 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    CURRENT AVAILABILITY: MAY 23-JUNE 14 and JULY 8-SEPTEMBER 3 TWO WEEK MINIMUM STAY. Please DO NOT contact me about future dates.


    My name is Mary, and I am a degreed marine biologist that owns an online school that teaches children from all over the world. My husband Brian and I purchased 13 acres of oceanfront property on the Caribbean Sea in Bocas Del Toro, Panama in January 2021. Our goal is to create an educational center for biodiversity where students and tourists can come and learn about the amazing flora and fauna of the rainforest and ocean here on our property.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While our Spanish is limited, we have one bilingual worker on the property and one indigenous worker that only speaks Spanish.

  • Help


    CURRENT AVAILABILITY: MAY 23-JUNE 14 and JULY 8-SEPTEMBER 3 TWO WEEK MINIMUM STAY. Please DO NOT contact me about future dates.

    We are accepting COUPLES ONLY (no singles, no exceptions, so please don't message me) for gardening and property maintenance. Duties would include planting, weeding, raking, picking up debris (limbs/sticks), trail building/maintenance, etc.... This is intense manual labor and our climate is very hot and humid! You need to be physically prepared for that. I also am looking for someone who can paint signs around the property and help out with SEO on our website- if you're able to do either of these things let me know when you apply. We require a 2 week minimum stay, with a total of 21 hours per week (3 hours per day) each. You can schedule your hours however you wish to meet the weekly requirement.

    1. This is physical labor in a lot of heat and humidity and sometimes pouring rain. It's not for everyone!
    2. We are quite remote and secluded. There are no restaurants, bars, or grocery stores you can just walk to. No deliveries. You'll have to cook all of your own meals. We go to town every few days to get items we need. We can give you a ride, or you can take the bus.
    3. You must always return to the property before dark (unless you're staying off property for the night, of course). This is for your own safety, as the road to walk down from the top of the property is very difficult to walk in the dark (even with a flashlight).
    4. When you apply for this workaway, your message needs to state "I READ AND UNDERSTAND THE REQUIREMENTS".

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We have a duplex unit that will be used to house workawayers. There is a queen bed, kitchen, living area, bathroom, and large screen porch.

    As you will have your own kitchen to cook in, we do not provide food. We do food "stock up" runs to the city of David once a month, and smaller grocery store runs once about every 2 weeks. We buy fresh veggies and fruits in the town 20 minutes from us a few times a week, and the "veggie boat" comes to our dock every Tuesday. Depending on the time of year, we have fresh organic mangos, bananas (4 types!), plantains, biriba, rambutan, avocados, soursop, pineapples, oranges, lemons, limes, guava, coconuts, dasheen, yuca, cocona and more from our property. We freely share these with our workawayers and encourage you to harvest your own!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located on the mainland of Bocas del Toro, about 20 minutes from the town of Almirante. We are in a secluded area, but there is bus access to Almirante/Changuinola at the top of the property. Although we are in the middle of a rural, offgrid rainforest, we do have internet!

    In your time off, you can snorkel the coral reef that is literally right off of our dock! We also have a kayak you are able to use to explore the mangroves and other little reefs in our area. For a day trip, you can take a boat to Isla Colon and visit Bocas Town in the Bocas del Toro archipelago. You can always catch a ride into the closest town with us if we're going. And there is a bus stop at the top of our property as well.

    We do not allow ANY kind of smoking on our property at all (inside or outside). No drugs. Alcohol in moderation, please. This is a peaceful place for mature adults and we want it to stay that way. :) Personal hygiene and cleanliness of the house are of the UTMOST importance!! We do not allow minor children or pets of workawayers on the property.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We don't have super fast internet, but it is stable and even works well for video calls. Uploading files can take a while, so be aware of that.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have ample shady parking on our property. However, we can not provide you with electricity at this time. Also, no dump station.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day. Can be split however you please to equal 21 hours per week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 457523533697