Feel closer to nature and join in our farming project near Ortahisar, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    we,gokhan and myself,conni,german,live in an old cappadocian cave house,in the village ortahisar.our days are filled with taking care of our animals(horse,goats,chicken,dogs and cats) ,gardens and vinyards.we produce cheese,dried fruits,jams,conserves and wine in a still very authentic fashion in an even more beautiful enviroment.we also organise picknicks ,using our own products and cooking skills .we try to be as self suficent as possible and whatever we produce over the summer we eat over the long winter.our location is central in cappadocia and there are countless possibilities for nice hiking trips in the surounding valleys.if you like to discover this unique area in a different ,more original way and you don t expect too much luxury,you are very welcome in our home.we are not a company,and our production is for our privat use only.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you ll learn a lot about animal care and grapes,cookig and especially about turkish culture and the area itself.we try to produce everything as natural as possible,we don t use insectie-or pestiesieds,nor artificel fertiliesers.good and healthy food is very important to us and a lot of it comes from our own production.we can tell you all about the area and show you the most beautiful places in cappadocia.of course,depending on the saison,you ll also be able to learn,how to make cheese,preserve vegetables,cook grape sirup,or produce wine

  • Help

    Help

    the work at our place never stops,it just changes with the saison.as long as you are phisically fit and you like animals,cooking and gardening you ll have a good time.in spring we prune our vinyards,plant vegetabels and grain.there is always maintanance work with the grapes(cutting,howing,watering ect) and the vegetabels over the summer,around august,harvesting and conserving the products(drying,cooking) starts,till the end of autumn.the goats like to be shepherded and milked and the stabel has to be cleaned every day to keep the animals healthy and happy.in winter there is building and capentering work,making wood and shuffeling snow,and of course still the animals
    ,which have to be cleaned and fed 3 times a day.. and there are the catering events,from april till beginning of november,where we can always need some help with cooking and preparing food.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you ll sleep in an authentic cave room.we ll share toilet and shower.we can provide you with blankets,towels and as much food as you want,our frigde is open to you.we ll normaly eat 2 times a day(breakfast and dinner),which we ll share together,otherwise you ll serve yourself...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    due to our work we are used to get up early ,mostly at sunrise,with a siesta in summer..our rythim changes with the sun and acording to the saisons.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 457473324694