Come and help me around the house and garden eco projects in rural village on Somerset/Dorset border, United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/05/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help wanted on house and garden eco projects at my home in rural village on Somerset/Dorset border, 2mi from Wincanton, 2 hrs from London.
    I am a structural/civil conservation engineer, 71, still working weekdays in my London based design practice to promote accurate appraisal of existing buildings and efficient design of alterations and repairs. I want help Friday to Monday, when home, to finish projects at home I’ve started, but I am sociable and hope for company when I go for a pint to my local town pub in the evenings, and shopping, too!
    I now live alone (divorced after 40yrs), except for my cats Jack, and perpetually asleep Purdie. My home for 34 years is a combined pair of cottages on the side of Blackmore Vale, 2hr coach to Hammersmith, 2hr trains to London from Gillingham, 7mi less away.
    I now want to get it finished quickly and so would like help - there is room for a couple - for, say, 24 hours a week, to complete many house and garden diy projects and a few building projects, none too ambitious and certainly within the capabilities of serious diy. The place would particularly benefit aspiring engineers, architects, surveyors, or would-be builders, who would see the application of my 50 years of experience, observation, and detective engineering on old and ragged buildings, some prestigious!
    I am used to, and enjoy working with, young foreign people and happy to help improve your English.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Rural tranquil, lush English countryside is on the doorstep. Glastonbury, Bath, Bristol, Weymouth, Jurassic Coast and Stonehenge are within 1 hour by car and my manual gearbox, spare car is available to a proven, insurable, sensible driver.
    You can learn self-sufficiency, growing and gardening techniques, carpentry, eco and environmental design considerations, practical building techniques, maintenance methods and procedures, and materials choices.

  • Help

    Help

    The picture shows the pair of cottages in about 1988, with my neighbour sunning himself before I bought his half. I added a single storey extension on the west end and now wish to make taller to include a gallery level, create a walled garden to relax in and enjoy the view down Blackmore Vale, and complete the garden terracing. Brick laying not required but amateur ability welcome! Eco things will include trying to retrofit insulation, grey and rain water recycling/harvesting, a Trombe Wall and turning house over to 24 volt solar circuits as far as possible.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English only

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own double bedsitting room and bathroom (shower), shared kitchen and main living room (when I'm home), all food provided but not meals generally so own cooking ability necessary.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local buses from Wincanton, a local taxi allowance to Wincanton for buses and supermarket will be provided, or bycycles for fine weather. Stourhead National Trust site near, and nice country walks all around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 456714598726