Learn about French Farming in the area of Great Aquitania, France

Country

France

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/08/2021

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for lively and enthusiastic people who can contribute with their ideas and work to a beautiful process of transformation.
    We have bought an old barnhouse and transformed much of it into a nice home. About another half is still waiting to be reconstructed, renewed and made into a guesthouse, and another part to be demolished to make space for a swimmingpool.
    To go with the house, there is quite a bit of a vegetable garden to be transformed into a fruit garden - or what the knowledgeables suggest that it should become.
    I would happily welcome people who are interested in working on the transformation of the two centuries old stone building with beautiful beams, as well as on the renewal of the old garden into a fruitful orchard.
    This part of France is called Great Aquitania. My village is 60 km from Poitiers (Futuroscope), 60 km from Angoulême (Festival de la Bande Dessinée) and 100 km from the atlantic coast (La Rochelle, Rochefort, Royan). The buildings are mostly of beautiful white limestone, even with imprints of fossils in them, so the scenery is remarkably nice.
    You or we may make visits the wineyard around Cognac and Bordeaux and cruises on the river Charente.


    Nous recherchons personnes enthousiastes pour nous aider à restaurer une ferme dans les des Deux-Sèvres et créer un verger, dans la Nouvelle Aquitaine. Vieilles pierres et vieilles poutres séculaires, parfaites pour créer des futurs gîtes et chambres d'hôtes. Mon village est à 60km de Poitiers, 60 Km d'Angoulême et 100 km de la côte atlantique (La Rochelle, Rochefort, Royan). Possibilité de visiter les vignobles de Cognac et de Bordeaux et croisières sur la Charente.

    Ancien professeur à la retraite, je parle anglais, allemand et polonais.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improvement of the French language, French history and civilization. You will find real Roman vestiges here, as Roman art reigns over this part of the country.
    Discovery of the oyster farming, the saItworks of Ré Island.
    The constructions are limestone. Numerous deposits of fossils.

    Perfectionnement de la langue française, histoire et civilisation françaises, architecture (l'art roman règne sur cette partie du pays), découverte de l'ostréiculture, des salines de l'île de Ré....
    Les constructions sont en pierre calcaire. Nombreux gisements de fossiles.

  • Help

    Help

    Clean and restore an agricultural ground (of about 3000m2) ; clear a wine storing cellar of its old barrels (mostly and presumably empty); help demolish a low-ceiling sheepshed.

    Il s'agirait de nettoyer et défrîcher un terrain (30 a), de vider le chai de ses tonneaux ( vides), d'abattre une vieille étable (construction basse).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    je désirerais approfondir les langues slaves en particulier, en échange, j'enseigne le françai

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bed and Breakfast, independant, any comfort.
    Meals taken in common. French cuisine and regional specialities. Possibility of having breakfast in individual on the terrace of the bedroom for those who whish for it.

    Chambre d'hôtes, indépendante, tout confort.
    Repas pris en commun. Cuisine française et spécialités régionales. Possibilité de petit-déjeuner en individuel sur la terrasse de la chambre pour ceux qui le désirent.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A lot of opportunities to visit small French towns, museums, distilleries, wineyards, workshops of artistic crafts, churches, flee markets and car boot sales.

    Possibilité de visiter des petites cités typiques, églises romanes et musées, des distilleries, des exploitations viticoles, des ateliers d'artisans d'art. Nombreuses brocantes et vide-greniers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Grande cour de ferme disponible

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.


Host ref number: 456498232397