Seeking a couple or two friends for indoor and outdoor home improvement help in Indiana and Kentucky, USA.

Country

United States

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a middle aged couple, Christine and John, seeking workawayers to stay with us in one or both of our two homes -- a rural lake home in Kentucky (near Danville), and a small interesting college city (Bloomington) in Indiana. We like the intercultural exchange having visitors from other countries.

    Our home is in the wonderful college city of Bloomington, Indiana, with many places to walk to and a short trip downtown by bus. It is a comfortable, and fun small city, with lots of opportunities for entertainment and interactions with local people. We spend most of our time here.

    The Kentucky home is near a small town on a very long beautiful lake, but it is very deep and you can't stand up in the water. We require a life jacket for poor swimmers and some kind of float for good swimmers. . Our property has a mini-nature preserve and a small orchard. We are close to the small town of Danville, but it is not practical to walk or ride a bike to get there, so the Danville home is mainly a quiet country experience unless you have an international driver’s license and all of us are comfortable with you driving.

    Sometimes we travel back and forth between the two homes. It is a three and a half hour drive. Depending on the weather, it is possible to kayak at one of the two homes.

    We are very happy to coach people in English, and we both are actually certified and have some experience teaching English. John knows intermediate Russian, and Christine knows some intermediate Spanish because of traveling many times to Nicaragua to help in a small children's library there, but we are flexible about the country you are from.

    Right now, we have a home and property work that we would like help with. Sometimes we need help clearing some bushes and branches away from trees and trails into piles. Work might also include painting, moving furniture with our help, pulling up old carpet, and outdoor work like mowing around trees, maybe fixing or installing fencing, trimming bushes, and garden work. Right now we have a number of indoor painting, wall paper removing projects.

    If you know how to do home improvement work, that might be very helpful. We have a lot of potential projects.

    I (Christine) is a retired child psychiatrist, age 60. My life includes singing, working with an organization fighting climate change, kick scootering, and sometimes hula hooping.

    My husband age 67, is a drummer. He has regular local jobs, playing American blues and jazz. His interests, besides music, are martial arts, running, cooking and baking, fruit trees, and learning Russian. You can certainly go with him to hear him play with a band.

    We are friendly, honest people and enjoy people from other countries. We have been hosts or “host family” to many people from abroad, including students at the local university. We like to do things, but we are not young partiers! (This is not a place for smokers, drinkers, or drug users.) We are vegetarians and cook a lot of vegan food. (We don't cook meat in the house.) We don't cook on a regular schedule, so you will have to prepare some of your own food. Depending on when you visit, we might have the opportunity to go to festivals and/or go camping. We have a large but friendly dog.

    We need someone who is flexible about activities. You might be interested in joining us for some of our everyday activities - going to the library, the grocery store, to see films, singing practice, walking to the park, climate change meetings, enjoying music events, etc.

    We also need someone who can entertain themselves, with a book, going to the library or taking a walk, for example, or going to events in town by themselves. We’ll certainly help you figure out where to go. John and I will often be busy and you'll have lots of free time! We can help you find things to do and opportunities to go out, especially in Bloomington. We enjoy socializing with people, and will want to do things together, but we have come to realize that we have some tendency to be introverted, so we do need "alone time" because we have a lot of individual projects going on, or for reading or relaxing. If you are looking for a very social experience with lots of people gathering around, this is probably not the best fit for you.

    We will want to talk together on Skype or What’s App a few times before making definite plans to make sure that we will all be happy and a good match, and that the situation will be fun for you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience a vibrant small city in Indiana possibly also a nice small town in Kentucky. Practice English and converse with hosts. Enjoy the outdoors and normal entertainment options in the US. Christine is very active with “song circles” (amateur singing for everyone - you don’t need to have any experience) so you are welcome to participate in that if you wish.

  • Help

    Help

    Indoor painting, wall paper removal.
    Home maintenance , and/or improvement.
    Outdoor property jobs. Carpentry.

    Possibly could also use help making short videos/films on song circles, and on using kick scooters

    I will help you with your English if desired.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own room, but may need to share a bathroom. But there are bathroom options, so you won’t be left waiting when you are in need!
    One house is in a fun, walkable small city. One house is in a more rural area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a low stress experience of American life. It will be a good experience for someone who wants to experience American life and communities, but does not need to do touristy things and does not need lots of people around. Visitors from other countries only please.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day. 5 days per week (averaged)

Sampling pies with workawayers.
Visit to farmer's market.
Visiting the local library.





Host ref number: 456365415154