1 / 5

Oceanfront landscaping amidst wildlife and culture in Alert Bay, BC, Canada

  • Favourited 5 times
  • Last activity: 18 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I live in Alert Bay where I run a small environmental non-profit organization that conducts conservation based research on cetaceans. It is demanding but fulfilling work. I have a number of projects around the yard that I need help with both due to not having enough time to complete them and having some issues with my back. The setting is quite nice here with beautiful oceanfront views.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Opportunities to learn about the local marine wildlife, especially whales, are prevalent. The small community I live in is also steeped in First Nations culture.

  • Help

    Help

    I’d like some help moving firewood, cutting kindling, gardening, pouring concrete, and landscaping.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a spare room with a king size bed in my 1600 square foot water front home that is available. All food will be provided, you will usually prepare your own breakfast and lunch but I will prepare most dinners.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are forest hikes, beaches, a museum and a few stores very close. Other nearby communities can be visited by ferry.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have space in my home for others to work as well as a spare desk, chair, and computer in my office which is on starlink

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A van can be parked in my driveway or across the road from my house next to the beach

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    A well behaved dog is Ok

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 456183288696

Photos

Feedback

Homestay in Markham, Ontario, Canada
Gardening and household help on beautiful Cortes Island, Canada