Come and help us around the house in Faulconbridge, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/03/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living in the Blue Mountains NSW Australia.
    The village we live in is called faulconbridge and is 77km west of sydney (only a 1.5 hour train ride to the city of Sydney- from central station trains run every hour approx) and we are Walking distance to springwood train station 25 minutes and 15 minutes to faulconbridge station- The mountains has many activities for adventurers such as bushwalking and mountain biking trails , rock climbing canyoning.

    Faulconbridge is the perfect location to stay to venture around the mountains and day trip to the city. But it would be important that you are someone that is happy to get out there and work out how to travel by yourself in your time off as we have little time to be able to transport you around on your day off.

    With busy family and working responsibilities we have also have little time for general up keep of the house and garden. We would love to share our home with you and give you access to the beautiful national park around us in exchange for work around the house like cleaning , painting , cooking , gardening.

    We want you to be a part of our family so we would welcome people who are comfortable to jump in and help as needed - for example if there is washing in the machine then throw it on the line - if there are dishes in the sink then wash them up !


    There are 3 boys in our family - but quite often it Is only 1 at home as the big boys are adults now ! The littlest is almost 11 and some babysitting , homework duties and assistance with keeping him organised would be helpful to us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'd have a chance to see an Australian family in action , join us for meals and explore the natural world of the blue mountains

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on your skills and what you'd like to spend time doing we have the following tasks that we need help with - take your pick !
    * after school care 3-6 (tues to think in school term)
    * childcare for occasional evening
    *️️ gardening - hedging planting pulling out shrubs
    *️️ house cleaning - day to day help with meals, food prep, washing up , and light cleaning and de clutter and organisation (Marie Kondo fans are welcome)
    *️️ window and blind cleaning
    *️️ occasional babysitting
    * possible painting house
    * pool maintenance

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One queen bed in own bedroom.
    We have home cooked meals together a few nights a week - other nights limited food will be here and you can help yourselves but anything extra or special that you would like you will have to
    Buy for yourself at the local IGA which is in springwood (25 minute walk)
    Our means are usually pretty plain like chicken snitizel and steak/veg etc as We have one very very fussy eater ... we do have the occasional pizza night when we are all running out of time. We all pitch in for clean up after our own mess and together after meals so you'd never be expected to do that without having to be asked.
    In the weekdays no one is usually home between 8 :30 and 3 , so it can be quiet in the day so it is important you are independent enough to jump in and help where you think it is needed or if there is no work to be done then you should be able to get out and about walking to the train to do the touristy thing !
    There is strictly no smoking on the premises as we have a son with allergies and also in a bush fire prone area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in national park so it is the perfect adventure ground -it is also a bush fire region so best if you are a non smoker as smoking can be a hazard in this area - cigarettes are known to start bush fires.
    Activities you can do are bush walks mountain biking cafes canyoning rock climbing abseiling and only a 1.5 hour train ride into the city of Sydney

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 454857328749