Help us with an alternative lifestyle in Portugal.



Favourited 60 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a French and Polish couple who decided to stop working 8 to 5 and moved to Portugal. We bought a beautiful granite house in a calm little village in the countryside and it needs some work. The land is 3000m2 which was mostly abandoned by the previous owner so there is a lot of cleaning to do. Our goal is to start a bed & breakfast in the house, providing organic food that we grow ourselves. We plan on having chickens and ducks, maybe a goose, at a later stage. For now, we have two cats and two dogs ! We are currently living in the house and the comfort is so so : the kitchen is amazing (that's the only almost finished room right now), the bathroom has no door but just a curtain and all the bedrooms are not renovated yet. It is perfectly liveable for whoever is OK with a rural setting. If you are looking for something fancy, only the food might be (and our pets, they are awesome) :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am French and my partner is Polish. We speak English fluently and I also speak Portuguese and can help with languages. Portugal is a very welcoming country and there is a lot to do if you like nature. We have a lot to share about gardening and renovation : we have learnt so much in one year already !

  • Help


    We are looking for people who are either knowledgeable in permaculture and love to work in a vast (3000m2) land that requires a lot of cleaning and sorting OR someone who knows about building, in particular lime plastering, carpentry, for the renovation of a beautiful granit house in Central Portugal

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English or French or Polish

  • Accommodation


    Depending on who's here : single ou king size bed in yet to be renovated room (comfy but not fancy). There is only one bathroom for everyone right now and we only have dry toilets (compost toilets)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We ask for about 5 hours of help per day (variable), we provide of course accommodation, food and laundry facilities. It is absolutely possible to talk about taking some days off to visit further cities like Lisbon or Porto. However, as we have only one truck for now, we cannot lend a car for the moment.

    Oh, we have two cats and two dogs, we are smokers who are desperately trying to quit (to no avail for now) and we like to relax nicely when we're not working. People usually say we are really nice hosts. We pride ourselves in quite good hearty cooking, vegetarian and meat-based !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 454521363965