Improve your English and enjoy a cultural exchange with our family in Barnsley, Yorkshire, Uk

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live with my father who is 98, in a lovely house in Barnsley. He is generally well and happy and we have some help but we can always benefit from more help around the place. Our home is only a short distance from the train/bus and town centre and Barnsley is a good location for visiting other parts of England. We also have some great attractions nearby such as the Yorkshire Sculpture Park, Cannon Hall Museum, and The Coal Mining Museum to name but a few.
    We aim to keep my Dad at home as long as this is possible, and keep him stimulated, happy and have a harmonious, pleasant environment in which he can live, and myself and my husband (plus lodgers) can also live.
    I am a musician and also have many years experience in English Language Teaching (TEFL). I would really enjoy having people from overseas, and would be able to give language support to anyone interested. I may also be able to give actual lessons, depending on my availability and what you are looking for.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers would get a really good opportunity to live and participate in an English speaking environment. This is a lively home with people coming in and out each day, and activities such as trips and shared meals. My Dad is very sociable (as am I) so you'd be able to talk and really improve your language and listening skills. In addition we are always interested in people from other cultures and so this should be a really fruitful exchange.

    Musicians would be especially welcome to come, as I would benefit from having them around - and other artists/creatives also would be stimulating company. I am potentially interested in doing a project such as making a video etc with workawayers , so if you are looking for that kind of thing (especially if I have another person at the same time who'll be doing more stuff with my Dad) don't hesitate to get in touch.

  • Help

    Help

    The help we require is first and foremost to provide company and general assistance to my Dad for a few hours a day and particularly if I need to be out. This would usually be set hours the evening e.g. 4-8 pm, and might be to stay with him until dinner is ready, and then assist him to get out of his chair, join us for dinner, and then return to the TV, or stay in the kitchen until his bedtime (it varies from about 8 to about 10). We generally share cooking.

    On a normal week Dad generally likes to go for lunch or to visit friends on a few days a week - you'd be invited to come along and this would mean you'd get to participate in a real English-speaking environment doing quite pleasurable things. We would appreciate help getting him in and out of the car, and at other times, sitting watching TV, or chatting with him which would enable me to focus on other things.

    We also have visitors round to the house, and maybe once a week invite people over (or more recently have a bigger gathering once a month). You would be part of this as a member of the household: and help prepare and tidy up afterwards, but also meet people and talk.

    Anyone staying must be a cat-lover and not surprised by cats appearing in their room, or trying to get out (they aren't allowed out here due to the main road at the front). Some cat-care would be really helpful: like maintaining the litter trays, brushing and adoring (of course!).

    My Dad likes people of all ages. Personality-wise he responds best to people who are able to/willing to make conversation (its not so much about fluency, but about sociability and asking the right questions). He is a lifelong Italophile, a former surgeon, and he's interested in subjects such as nature, politics, archeology, travel and poetry. He used to be able to recite reams of poetry, but now mostly he'll occasionally burst into a favourite song. He's not quite as sharp as he used to be, but he still has a great sense of humour, and interest in many things.

    I would say me and my husband are similarly interested in all things; especially relating to culture. He's currently working as an excavator driver locally, though his first love is ceramics. In the future we intend to move away from the UK so its a bonus to be able to meet people and keep connected to what' happening elsewhere. I lived abroad for many years. I used to be a good Italian/Polish speaker but I'm really rusty- I would benefit from any opportunity to speak either of these languages with you: and for any language-support really. As a teacher, I can do an initial assessment to help you identify key areas of your English to work on while you are here, and I can give you homework suggestions, and informally check your writing etc. More formal lessons can also be arranged if this is of interest, though this depends on how busy I am.

    We may have two (and occasionally three) workawayers - and this way we can give a bit more balance - first of all you get to socialise with each other, and do jobs together: these might include in the garden (watering the plants, potting plants, clearing paths etc), and more "hands-on" - painting, fixing etc. Sometimes however the "job" is just to be good company: we like sociable meal times. There might even be time for some kind of eco-project such as building a geodesic dome, or something on these lines (wish list: sauna!!!). Ideally you’ll want to meet people, and take part in things outside our household . Some ways you could do this include attending free English classes, other language groups ( eg helping English learners to speak Spanish) going walking with the Ramblers association or going on day trips - local coaches run trips for extremely good prices.

    I may be able to take you to see places - if possible, including a few days at a cottage in the moors near Whitby. Work is needed there to renovate and it’s very rural and quite run down but lovely.

    I don't eat meat, though my Dad and my husband do. But I'd welcome vegetarians/vegans. I'd also welcome people who have a commitment to daily practice such as yoga or meditation.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, Polish, some Spanish/French/German. Some members of the family (visitors) speak Danish, Dutch, Friesian, Mandarin and other languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would stay in our home: a lovely house (6 bedrooms) in a residential area about ten minutes from the town centre Last December we had to have the house rewired, and as a result - there has been a lot of redecoration. Whichever room you stay in, it will have been cleaned top to bottom, and recently decorated.

    Guest rooms include two double rooms . All rooms have a bed, desk, chair and space for your belongings. A while ago I planned to teach English from home (homestay with lessons) and so prepared bedrooms accordingly. They're comfortable, recently decorated and should have everything you need. Anything you don't have, please ask.

    In addition, everyone living here can use the lounge, a large dining room, and kitchen. The house also has a garden which you can enjoy anytime. We have a large outbuilding with a room upstairs which we are renovating. There's also a shed/garage where my husband, Craig spends most of his free time.

    Food would be included - currently we eat at least one meal as a family most days, but generally everyone gets their own breakfast (except for my Dad). During the weekday mornings we have help in the house. Breakfast needs to be no later than 8 so the kitchen is free by 8.30.

    Lunch is usually between 1-2 pm. The evening meal is at 7. Everyone looks after their own washing up, or sets up/clears up after shared meals. Anyone can cook, and if you like cooking, great! . Shopping is generally done either on the internet, or in short shopping trips.. there's a local shop a few mins walk away for basics, and supermarkets a short drive away. (I'm also planning to have my bike available to lend).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The town is interesting to walk around- see the new market, and immerse yourself in local culture (it's quite a unique place). The sights already mentioned are great - but there's also fantastic countryside only a few miles away - and for those who like walking this is a great place to be. Further afield, there's Derbyshire, North Yorkshire which offer great scenery to explore/rock climbing etc. Trains go to Sheffield and Leeds, and then connections are from there. Buses go all over, and there's even a connection to London direct.

    Nearest Airports are Doncaster/Sheffield (there is a direct bus to Barnsley), Leeds-Bradford, Manchester (there is a good train connection - buy a return ticket if you are coming for a month or less), East Midlands and Humberside. Its also possible (of course) to travel here from one of the London airports.

    Buses from the hospital (5 mins) go to Cawthorne village and Cannon Hall, and to Wakefield via the Yorkshire Sculpture Park - a world-class sculpture exhibiltion centre- and great day-out. Buses and coaches from the town centre go most places.

    Two coach companies in the town centre offer day trips, which are an ideal way to see nearby places of interest on a budget. I can be flexible about days off - the days I most need your help are Fri/Sat/Sun but if you have a good opportunity to go somewhere, or some event is only on certain days just ask .

    You can attend some free English classes (e.g. Monday 9.30 at the Library, Wednesday 5.00 at the town hall) there's some Yoga nearby (Friday at St Paul's) .. and if you're wanting to study more intensively then there's a language school locally or in Sheffield which is a half hour daily train ride. Most workawayers will be needed primarily in the evening/weekends, and we're happy to consider long-term workawayers who hope to get a job or be out during the day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dad in March in Wales visiting the village he was born in, and the pulpit dedicated to one of his Grandfathers
A little project to paint the railings around grave of my great grandfather in Llansanfraid
The statue outside the miners union headquarters in Barnsley
Esperanza and Evan having fun with silly specs!
A recent "gathering". This was a birthday but we tend to have gatherings for brunch, lunch or sometimes an evening meal fairly frequently especially in warmer months
View onto the garden from the kitchen
Fenris one of our three cats. Please note that you need to like cats if you stay with us. Our cats are very playful and are used to being the centre of attention.
Evan reading the book he got for his birthday
Sheffield city centre
Sheffield city centre
Coffee at the Premier Inn with our first workaway-er, Rosita
Me

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 454141412931