Discover the tranquility of our 400 year old historical home in South Somerset, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 116 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    We are looking for a couple to come and help us with our house, garden, our dogs, cat, chickens and runner ducks.

    We live in a beautiful 400 year old ex-farmhouse in the heart of the idyllic Somerset countryside. We live on the edge of a small village with a pub, but only 5 mins drive from the nearest town which has shops. We are about 25 mins from Glastonbury and 40 minutes from the Jurassic Coast. There are walks to be had from the house and plenty of gorgeous villages to visit, many with cosy country pubs!
    You could live in our beautiful annexe with your own bedroom, bathroom, living room and small kitchen and therefore be self sufficient.
    Please get in touch if you have any questions!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area is full of cultural opportunities from learning ancient crafts, to music and local made food and drink. Our current Workawayers have improved their English a lot by helping alongside us.

  • Help

    Help

    We are ideally looking for a couple to help us with a variety of tasks. But the key thing is walking the dogs whilst I am unable to due to my broken ankle and my husband is working.
    In addition, we have some indoor decorating tasks that we need help with, as well as heavy gardening, general maintenance and some housework. It would be amazing to find someone who can do minor electrical tasks, or some plumbing but this is not essential. We have two friendly dogs who love to be walked and the chickens need cleaning and feeding. We would expect to discuss and agree with the helper prior to their starting what their abilities and dislikes are so they can do the tasks that appeal more to them.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If you are a couple you would stay in our twin bedroom, self-contained annexe which has its own bathroom, kitchen and living room. You will have your own TV.
    You will be provided with food to prepare your own meals and will also be invited to enjoy meals and conversation with us sometimes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your days off you could visit great sites like Stonehenge, Glastonbury and the Jurassic Coast. There are buses into town from the bottom of the road. It is a great area for cycling but you would need to bring your own bikes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Always looks better in the sunshine!
60's Party!
Django can't wait to take you walkies!
Our free-range ducks and chickens!
Your spacious bedroom
Your private living room
I'm learning to make Sourdough bread
Sometimes we get to go away too!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 625512263842

Give the gift of Workaway
read more

Find your perfect host