Easy-going family fun with a side of gardening in British Colombia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 237 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 30 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    **please read what we are currently looking for before messaging us!**

    I am a stay-at-home mom, artist & jeweller who loves to garden and cook healthy meals inspired by our many travels and the fresh local foods on the island. My husband is a construction manager and adventurer who has travelled to 53 countries; sight-seeing, working and learning about different cultures and sustainable building practises. We have both had amazing experiences with the Couchsurfing website as both hosts and travellers around the world. We have two boys ages 5 & 3! We both like the idea of helping travellers, learning from one another and increasing our global community. We hope to have helpers integrate into our small-city community environment & feel like family!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope you'll learn lots about a young, growing family...we are still constantly learning to adapt to our new lifestyle with children in a very peaceful city, after many years of partying and travel! I love to cook and have a lot of cultural recipes to share from our travels. I cook a lot from the garden and make a lot of food from scratch. I also do a lot of bread baking and preserving as well as making homemade salves and lip balms from herbs around our garden. If you are into gardening, we are always expanding our food garden and testing out new growing methods and if you like to build- we are always constructing and Erik has plenty of knowledge to share in that area. There are many areas to focus and learn from which one you like as long as you communicate with us what you are looking for, we are happy to accommodate! We are always striving to create the perfect work/life/parenting/partying balance! :)

  • Help

    Help

    *Please read our whole profile before messaging us! *
    We moved into our home about 5 years ago and are currently establishing multiple food & flower gardens, building new food-growing structures, trellises, new deck and converting our garage into a professional art studio. We also have a storage space, deck and potting shed as projects on the horizon.


    ***UPDATE***
    Currently we are looking for someone to stay for a few (or longer) months. Basically we have a list of projects all around our house, inside and outside that we just don’t have time for...and we have an awesome extra bedroom! We would love someone with experience and passion in building and handy-man projects who does not need to be monitored but rather pointed in the direction of the project and check things off the list. Some big jobs my husband would work with you on! We would be open if you also had a job and put in some at both - we are open to different variations of this agreement!
    Overall, you should be able to go with the flow, be great at fixing things, using tools and building things and be motivated to help out as if we were your own family. Every little bit helps. :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a spacious, country home in a gorgeous, quiet area of Victoria one block from the ocean. You will have your own private bedroom with Queen sized bed, in a quiet area of the house. (Away from us & the boys!) You'll share a large bathroom with tub/shower and we have a hottub on the back deck which you are welcome to use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a 10 minute drive from downtown or a 20 minute bus ride (bus stop located one block from our home). There are several beach access points to swim, kayak or relax, all within a few minutes walk. There are plenty of gorgeous hikes nearby as well as lakes to visit, bicycling trail, kayak/paddle board areas and lovely shopping areas & historical buildings downtown.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Host ref number: 453491315833