Babysitter and/or farm help needed on an island- Saare county, Estonia

Country

Estonia

Favourited 124 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    475

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four, Anne (51), Jaan (50), Mare (28) and Joanna (2). We have an organic farm in Estonia on an island called Saaremaa. We grow a little bit of everything, mostly beef and dairy cattle, poultry and vegetables. We also have some fruit trees and berry bushes, dog and cats. Our family is trying to be as self-sufficient as we can, so we preserve food for the winter and also forage (berries, mushrooms, herbs). Farm is located 4 km from the sea and 8 km from the nearest town.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have travelled around a fair bit ourselves and Mare has also volunteered in organic farms in Australia, so we have many stories to share. You can learn about many aspects of farming, like animal husbandry and growing vegetables. Also Estonian traditional cooking, preserving food for winter, herbal medicines. Anne is also interested in traditional healing methods like leech therapy and old Estonian massage. We would also love to learn your language.

  • Help

    Help

    Berry pickers needed!!

    Picking redcurrants, blackcurrants, gooseberries, blueberries, mushrooms. Mowing lawn, weeding vegetables etc. Playing with our 2 yr old toddler.

    Work depends a lot of the time of the year. Spring to autumn there is more work in the garden and fields (digging, planting, seeding, weeding, picking berries etc.) Winter time mostly in the chicken shed (feeding, picking and packing eggs). If you have some skills like building it would be really handy but if not you're still welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Estonian, English, Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Now we have a possibility to stay in a campervan!

    You will have your own room in the workers apartment, which is located at our dairy farm. There is a shower and a kitchen. You can have your breakfast there (we provide the food), lunch and dinner is in the family house which is located 1 km from the apartment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is located 8 km from the town and 4 km from the sea. So on your time off you can always go there. We can lend you a bicycle, there are also buses. We go to town very often by car and can drop you off and pick you up. Town has many historical buildings like 14th century castle that has a museum inside. There´s nice cafes and art galleries, also a lot of events going on the summer time. Summer is a busy time in our farm but we always try to find some time to relax ourselves. We like going to the beach with our dog often. There´s many nice beaches for swimming and sunbathing. Smoking is okay outdoors. Mixed diet. Vegans and vegetarians welcome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 452917334461