Naturally Wild, West coast Algarve, Portugal

  • Favourited 130 times
  • Last activity: 11 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    On 15ha of land in the Parque Natural, we live a whole and peaceful life, off-the-grid (with good internet🙈)

    The way we MOVE, EAT, COMMUNE. and interface with NATURE, dictate our lives.

    From our organic garden and that of our neighbours, we get almost all our fresh produce.
    Fermented foods, sun dried goods and home baked bread are examples of food we enjoy.

    With Zoe, our large pup, we explore miles and miles of off-road trails and regular wild swimming.

    The 4 (outside) feline companions love our presence and just enough attention.
    The 'ladies' produce delicious eggs; Federico takes care of them and they surprise with delightful personality.

    The garden, animals, general upkeep and building projects require constant presence and commitment.

    Travelling and our other hobbies like climbing, surfing, sailing and long distance hiking are only possible with significant organisation and creativity.

    We have had tremendous success and great fun, hosting through Workaway, short-term
    BUT
    Would like to explore a more long term community commitment where we could
    -create together
    -share the health and safety the land provides
    -enjoy the convenience of shared responsibility and
    -thrive with like-minded people while being challenged and inspired by diversity

    If you would like to explore this, come and experience this space for 2-4 weeks and see if it is what you would like to call home.
    .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a South African couple who have lived abroad for 20+ years.
    Our children were born in Ireland and Namibia.
    We lived in Namibia for 7 years before we went sailing on our 53ft cutter. After 5 years of cruising, we decided to stay in one place for a bit again.
    We settled in Portugal to live closer to the land and found 15ha of pristine bush in the natural park.
    That was nearly 10 years ago.

    Our backgrounds are in mechanical engineering and medicine and we have a special interest in yoga, qigong, breath work, energy medicine and nutrition.

    We are eager to share and learn new things.

    We strive to minimise our impact on the environment and constantly explore sustainable living concepts.

    Living in the rural Algarve, we have many elderly neighbours who share their language and experience of the land, sea and local cuisine with us.

    Learning to eat what we grow and harvest from the land and sea at special times has been a special journey.

    As our command of this language progresses and the local experience deepen, the Portuguese culture slowly infuses into our lives.

  • Help

    Help

    The following skills would be a benefit:

    Love and knowledge of gardening
    Woodworking
    Clearing bush and cutting wood

    Specific skills are less important than a positive attitude, problem solving and realizing projects by following through with ideas.

    It is important that you are physically strong. Everything we do, from gardening to cycling and surfing is only enjoyable if you are relatively fit.

    Our schedule is not fixed. We like to be flexible for the weather and surfing conditions.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravan, nestled in the Cork oaks, down in the garden with own outdoor kitchen and bathroom area.

    You are welcome to one communal, cooked meal and provision per working day.

    We do eat meat and fish occasionally but enjoy balanced vegetarian cooking.
    We avoid dairy and wheat.

    Shared cooking experiences are most welcome!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The beach is easily accessible by bicycle (25min)
    A swim at the private dam is just 20 minutes walk away.

    Although this place feels isolated, we are not remote. Bordeira village is 10mins by car and Aljezur less than 15.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good wi-fi connection available for digital nomads.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have terraces for a campervan/tiny home/tented camp.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 372546441674

Feedback (12)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Conscious living, permaculture and eco building near Porto, Portugal
Help us create a more sustainable life between Caldas da Raina and Óbidos, Portugal