Help our family with building and gardening projects on Bornholm, Denmark

Country

Denmark

updated  

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there! My name is Christel and my husbands name is Yge (Ike will also work. Nobody can pronounce his name). We are a dutch homeschooling family of 5, starting our own homestead. We live on Bornholm, an island in the Baltic sea, which is beautiful to visit all year round.

    We moved to Bornholm about a year ago with our daughter Isabella (now 8) and our son James (3). A couple of months after moving here we also welcomed our youngest Luna (1). We bought an old farm close to the beach and started renovating the place. We are working towards opening a herbalshop next year and next to that we are homeschooling our children and realizing our dream to turn the farm into a homestead.

    This upcoming year we want to start with our vegetable- and herbgardens, we want to get chickens and geese, maybe donkeys. Other than that we are planning to make a space where we can learn and grow as adults. We want to arrange masterclasses to learn new skills.

    Unfortunately, because of my asthma we do not accept smokers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live 2 km from the beach and very close to Dueodde beach (less than 5 km), you can cycle there in less than 15 minutes. We speak fluent English (our oldest daughter can also speak and understand English very well), dutch (mothertongue), a little bit german and french and are learning to speak Danish.

    Other than that you can learn about herbs, herbal first aid, philosophy, natural cleaning, no-dig gardening, boardgames (Yge worked in a boardgameshop for 15 years), homeschooling, building and living on a homestead, moving abroad, painting miniatures (Yge paints on commission), FAM, natural pregnancy and birth and cooking. You can learn along with us on our journey to partial self-sufficiency, starting and running a bussiness and starting a learning community.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We can do a lot, but we recurrently do not have enough time in our day. We can mainly use an extra pair (or two) of hands with building and gardening projects such as making or tearing down walls, building a greenhouse out of old windows, making a chickencoop, planting trees, pruning apple- and peartrees, maintaining and cutting grass in the sitting area, helping with insulating the roof of our house, replacing wooden panels and floors and so on.

    This July we have a big project planned where we want to remove the wall between the kitchen and diningroom, remove all the radiators and the old oil furnace, paint behind all the radiators and redo the floor in the new bigger livingkitchen. We are also putting up a new wall in our bedroom to create a hallway.

    Don't worry if you don't have a lot of experience yet. We are forever learning and we know everyone is starting somewhere. As long as you want to roll up your sleeves and help us build up our homestead, we are willing and able to be a learning community.

    If you consider yourself not that handy, but are interested in visiting us, we can also always need a hand with help around the house in general. We can always use a helping hand with dishes, laundry and other general housework. Send us a message if you rather help out with cooking and homeschooling. We are open to that possibility.

    We are expecting you to help us out at least 4-5 hours a day for at least 4 or 5 days. We can talk about our mutual expectations and how we fill this in.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Danish: Beginner
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am open to learning new languages and learning someone else to speak dutch or improve their English. I want to improve my danish, german and french. I also like to learn more italian, portuguese and spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an extra room with a double bed, waterboiler and tea, clothesrack, table and chairs and two bookcases. We have a separate toilet and bathroom with bath you can use privately. We have our own bathroom and toilet. You also have your own outside door, which leads to your room, toilet and bathroom. We have a kitchen, living room and dining room you will be sharing with us. If you come here, we can cook diner for you and eat together. We can cook and eat vegan if you desire, but we aren't vegans in our day to day lives. We don't have strict times in which we eat. You can make breakfast and lunch yourself from our pantry or eat with us. Whatever you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bornholm is an island with a thriving homeschooling community and a lot of sporting opportunities (cycling, kajaking, rockclimbing, golfing, horseback riding, fishing, sailing, surfing, diving etc.). There are jawdropping cliffs, endless beaches and beautiful forests. Bornholm has a couple of interesting round churches, old castle ruins and there are a lot of geocaches. There are plenty of cycleroads all over the island and good bus connections all over the island. We have a big car and in consultation one of us can drive you somewhere or come along.

    About getting to the island. There are a couple of possibilities to get here. You can fly from Copenhagen or take the ferry. In summer there is a ferry going from Germany (Sassnitz), Sweden (Ystad) and Denmark (Køge). In winter, the boat from Sassnitz doesn't go. The boat from Køge is a nightboat. It arrives very early in the morning. So personally we never use that one. If you are travelling from Copenhagen there is also a bus going to the ferry in Ystad. The ferry from Ystad takes 80 minutes and is cheapest and easiest accessible. So, if you travel by train or plane to Copenhagen, it might be worth looking into taking the ferry-bus connection to Ystad. (I think it´s around +/- €17,- for the bus and train ticket combined.) You can book a bus-ferry ticket on kombardoexpressen(.dk) or bornholmerbussen(.dk) (prices are both the same, but with kombardoexpressen the bus goes on board of the ferry and with bornholmerbussen you board yourself). Both sites are only in Danish, but it´s managable with google translate. For booking flights, you can visit dat(.dk) and for booking a ferryticket without the busticket (or from a different destination) you can go to bornholmslinjen(.com) (English). It is possible for us to pick you up from the ferry or airport.

    Our homeschooling is mostly child-led and is never the same. You can find them crafting, baking, programming, reading, playing or just hanging on the couch (we all have those days, don't we?). We are not working with strict schedules, but intuitively feel what we want to do in a day. This goes for our homeschool, but also our life in general. We mostly work in and around the house, but have a couple of homeschooling activities during the week (like playdates, homeschooling co-op, swimming and gymnastics). We also love our D&D campaign on Wednesdaynight. We are outgoing introverts, which means we can socialize just fine, but do like our time alone (or as a family) to recharge now and again. Remember we are dutchies, so we can be direct, but it always comes from a good place. We like to know where we stand.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Depending on what exactly you want to do online, we have a pretty decent wi-fi connection. You have a table and chair(s) in your room so you can sit and work there if you like or anywhere else in or outside the house. We have a waterboiler and some tea for your own room.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large empty barn where you can park your campervan or motorhome if you want to park inside and more than 7000m² of land, including a courtyard, so there must be a place to park. We can even see if we can get some electricity there. That must be no problem.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs are okay as long as they are safe with small children and chickens. Cats are harder, because I am allergic to them. Other animals like birds, mice or rats are also welcome as long as they are in a cage or well trained.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 452488633742