Organic self sustainable, off grid, family market farm near Cradle Mountain, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 293 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi we are Wouter and Elyse,

    We are currently have one position out of two open for a 6 to 12 month internship position.
    We would also accept help with the kids and/ or help on the farm/homestead or looking for builders.
    Typically we're looking for a little more meaningful connection with our volunteers and rarely accept stays under 2 weeks.





    Wouter is a CSA organic vegetable farmer coming from Belgium and Elyse is vet from Tasmania
    We have three young children (five, four and 10 months). We are looking for some help around the place and obviously
    we like good company

    We have a block of land on which we started a certified organic farm, with the focus on vegetables.

    As we have moved to this place not so long ago, there is still a fair bit of work in setting up.

    Elyse grew up around this place and has together with her parents a small herd of milking goats for home dairy use and blackberry control. Living self sustainable has always been a major part of daily life.

    Wouter had a CSA vegetable farm in Belgium (for which this Workaway page was use first) feeding more then 600 people for 10 months a year and had quite a few volunteers usually.
    In pursue of a more close to nature life for us and our kids, we decided to live here in Tasmania and build up a new farm.

    Lorinna is a pretty amazing part of Tasmania, it lies at the very top of the Forth river, just out the Lake St Clair- Cradle Mountain National Park at Lake Cethana,
    We have a lot of wildlife, beautiful forests, a beautiful lake for swimming and offering great vistas, nice views over the mountains and Cradle Mountain.
    We live at about an hour drive from Sheffield, 2 hours from Launceston.

    We live off grid, using solar panels and micro hydro for electricity and hot water
    firewood from our block for cooking, heating and hot water.
    Gravity fed drinking water from a creek.
    composting toilet

    Around the house we have an established orchard and a small vegetable garden for a few items we might not grow on the farm, for some of our vegetable seed production, perhaps some crop trials and a little bit of chook food at times.

    At times we make some cheese from the goat milk and always do a few different ferments ( like saurkraut, beer, wine,..) preserve our food in all sorts of ways, all depending on what's happening in regards of our available time and the time of year.

    Next to our homestead & family life we have our commercial farm:

    Which covers about 1000m (1/4 of an acre) of greenhouse growing, about 2 ha( 5 acres) of outside production (not including rotation with more pasture)
    We take a fairly professional approach to this part of our life and this is, as well as a passion, just as much a business, with often a fair rythem and pace.
    We have our own seedling nursery using soilblocks, we also sell seedlings.
    We work quite intensively, European style foundation, with a focus on direct sales.
    We have Tassie's only single farm CSA and we weekly attend the Launceston farmers' market. So mostly lots of small successions of many different crops.
    We take a holistic approach to the farm and despite the intensive veg, work more and more with a low input system. We're pleased to stay away from plastic mulch and to see more and more greenmanures/cover crops happening, animal grazing, on-farm compost making and the long planned for sintropic inspired alley cropping&sylvo pasture taking shape.

    We get inspired by people like Jean Martin Fortier, Many Great Belgian and Dutch collegue farmers, Darren Doherety, Bill Mollison& David Holmgren, Elaine Inglam, Allan Savory, Ernst Gotsch, Colin Seis, ... (the list goes on for a while)
    We aim to be regenerative and things like permaculture, biodynamics, biological, common sence, the regrarian platform,... are part of our toolbox we use for our farming.


    We are keen on having helpers that are very interested in what we do and our way of life out in the sticks.

    ...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    There's a wide range of jobs that need to be done, we're very happy to suit jobs to your liking where possible, we really like having a good atmosphere where everybody is pleased about all conditions.
    A few suggestions:

    Our place could really do with some mural paintings to cheer some walls up, or some sculptures along the driveway to create a more funky place.

    We have three kids and often only one parent to look after them, some help with the kids and around the house would be lovely.

    We use a fair amount of machinery in the farming, mechanically minded people keen on machines, car mechanics, welding and so forth are very welcome.

    We have a few renovation projects we would like to get started on using natural building materials for e.g.
    our deck walls needs rendering with cob (clay-sand- straw mixture)
    Over summer we would like to build a cob pizza oven.

    We have quite a few shelves that need building, ... We've got locally milled timber ready to go, we've got the power tools needed for the jobs,... just a passionate and keen person needed.

    And of course there are lots of random jobs around the place, plenty of things to keep you more then busy.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A yurd (very large Mongolian tent), for bed room, this is a shared bedroom when we have multiple people staying.
    The yurd has electricity for basic needs and has a woodheater for colder times (nice and cosy with the heater going though).
    A large canvas tent for the summer months.

    Basic house work jobs like cooking and doing the dishes or lighting the kitchen fire and sweeping the floor are part of the daily tasks that get shared among the hosts and guests, on top of the daily work.

    we are vegetarian
    Nearly 100% of the food we eat is from certified organic source, we highly value good quality of food and highly value people who value this too and share the interest.

    There is an internet connection preferably via cable or wifi can be turned on upon request for limited amount time. (We keep our wifi typically off as we don't appreciate the radiation that comes with it.)

    We have one very kind dog who lives outside and one cat who lives in and outside

    We live remotely meaning, going to town is a full day affair, is mostly quite busy getting everything done and doesn't necessary happen every week, we often have other people pick up supplies for us.

    Living off grid also requires some different attitudes towards, electricity use, hot water use, toilet use (emptying a toilet bucket or weeing under a tree for both sexes for e.g.) heating (lighting a fire, carrying wood in for e.g.)
    These differences may be found challenging for certain people.

    We live at the end of a narrow and windy gravel, no through road which takes about half an hour from the bitumen. Check the map and you'll understand that getting here is best organized ahead of time. Unless you come with your own vehicle, we can pick you up from Sheffield/Devonport on Tuesdays and from Deloraine/Launceston on Saturdays.
    Hitchhiking is best done from Sheffield early enough in the day with a Lorinna sign.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As Lorinna is a place of great natural beauty, the place is great for doing short self guided walks.
    We like to look for like minded people who are into off-grid, sustainable and alternative living and building

    There are a few strawbale and clay light straw buildings in Lorinna.
    An organic food co op, open twice a week with Saturdays the time to meet people and buy organic coffe.
    In summer pizza nights.
    Movie nights and different events.
    An interesting community that helps each other in many different ways
    Lorinna is very much an alternative building, energy and living hub;
    Lots of people who have come here went back often very inspired to start similar projects elsewhere or even here in Lorinna!
    There a lot of children in Lorinna (about 20 for the moment), all home educated

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We can supply internet, only through an ethernet cable though (wifi only for short amount of times) 4g connection is available too with your own data, but only via the Telstra network.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 6 days per week, as agreed










Host ref number: 448814419157