Help build a yurt in the countryside of Cáceres, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/04/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Isabel and Simon, a couple between 50 and 60 years old and live between two rivers in the Sierra de Gata, a wonderful place north of the province of Cáceres. We inhabit fixed yurts of bio-construction, dedicating ourselves to the cultivation of the orchard and the fruit trees. We love the simple and quiet life of the countryside, enjoying the nature by taking long walks and sleeping under the starry sky. We also have a donkey, a mare, chickens, dogs and cats.

    This year we want to convert the oldest yurta, which is made of cloth, into a fixed construction. We will do this work in 4 phases:

    1st phase (May) _ We will dedicate ourselves to skeleton carpentry: roof ridge, 24 elements for the wall and the rafters.

    2nd phase (June) _ We will build the base wall with stones and bricks.

    3rd phase (July) _ We will mount the skeleton with the roof included.

    4th phase (August) _ We will cover the walls with mud.

    As this work will last all summer, we look for motivated and interested volunteers to collaborate in 1 or more of these phases. Thank you!


    ¡Hola! Somos Isabel y Simon, una pareja entre 50 y 60 años y vivimos entre dos ríos en la Sierra de Gata, un lugar maravilloso al norte de la provincia de Cáceres. Habitamos unas yurtas fijas de bio-construcción, dedicándonos al cultivo de la huerta y de los árboles frutales. Nos encanta la vida sencilla y tranquila del campo, disfrutando de la naturaleza dando largos paseos y durmiendo bajo el cielo estrellado. Además tenemos un burro, una yegua, gallinas, perros y gatos.

    Este año queremos convertir la yurta más antigua, que es de tela, en una construcción fija. Este trabajo lo realizaremos en 4 fases:

    1ª fase (mayo)_ Nos dedicaremos a la carpintería del esqueleto: aro del tejado, 24 elementos para la pared y los cabrios.

    2ª fase (junio)_ Construiremos el muro base con piedras y ladrillos.

    3ª fase (julio)_ Montaremos el esqueleto con el tejado incluído.

    4ª fase (agosto)_ Revestiremos las paredes con barro.

    Como este trabajo durará todo el verano, buscamos voluntari@s motivad@s e intersad@s en colaborar en 1 ó más de estas fases. ¡Muchas gracias!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Within friends and neighbours from varios countries there is always a good exchange of knowledge and experiences.

  • Help

    Help

    Garden work, harvesting, building

    Feeding / caring for horses dogs

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    español,aleman,swiss aleman,catalan,frances,basic english,italiano basico

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we have one yurt for volunteers,when its occupate volunteers can sleep in a tent or in summer in treehouse

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    trekking, routes by horse, music groups (digeridoo etc) different classes in surrounding villages like dancing, yoga, theatre, acrobatic etc
    there is a bike available and a car can be used as well

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

old kitchen and three house

Host ref number: 798711459585