Join our family of four and help with the kids and around the garden in Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated   Last minute

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Due to a cancellation we are looking for a workawayer us during the 1st two weeks of July as well as September onwards.

    We are a family of 4 (parents and 8 year old twins) and live in our dream home in Lagoa in the Algarve. We are looking for a couple or single person who can help with child care and general cleaning. Maybe some house, garden and animal sitting (dog, guinea-pigs and goldfish) in the case of the family going away for a few days.

    4 hours per day, 5 days a week in exchange for private 1 bed apartment with internet, parking, breakfasts and some evening meals. Access to swimming pool and bicycles.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live on the edge of a beautiful and typical Algarvian village with the fantastic coastline and beaches just 6 km away. Easy distance to local bars, restaurants, shops and bus routes.

  • Help

    Help

    We have 2 lively 8 year old twins (a girl and a boy). They both love dancing, gymnastics, swimming, trampolining - basically anything energetic. We are lucky we have a large garden with a heated swimming pool so there is plenty of room for them to run and shout. They attend the local school until the beginning of July.

    Whilst school is still on we would like our workawayer to help with general jobs around the house (cleaning, washing and maybe a meal every now and again etc) and also 3 hours of babysitting every Thursday and Friday evening so that we (the parents) can attend our Portuguese classes in preparation for an exam.

    During the summer holidays in July and August there will be more time spent playing with the kids and less on housework. Depending on travel restrictions we may spend a long weekend away in UK sometime in July. We would then ask our workawayer to be our house and pet-sitter. We have a very friendly medium-sized dog, 2 guinea-pigs and 3 goldfish. We also have a vegetable patch that will need keeping an eye on too.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate 1 bedroom furnished apartment with WiFi. Bedroom with kingsize bed. Ensuite bathroom with shower. Lounge with bed-settee and kitchen where you can prepare your own food. Breakfast is provided and two or three times a week it would be lovely for you to join the family for a BBQ or meal. Parking if required. Bicycles available for use. Access to swimming pool (heated).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Child care work will involve keeping track of the twins (they run fast!) and generally entertaining them.
    Housework will involve general cleaning...
    Other works some weeding, lawn cutting etc
    However to relax you will have your own private apartment with access to the internet, great views and a good location. You are also always welcome to join our 8 year old twins jumping on the trampoline or swimming! You can walk to the village and visit the famous Porches potteries and the beach is not far away either. Bus stop 200 metres from house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have great broadband.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 399322932311