1 / 5

Share our B&B with guests from all over and learn about latin way of life in a non-touristic spot in Valparaiso, Chile

  • Chile
  • Favourited 324 times
  • Last activity: 02/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Our family has been running a B&B for about eight years in one of the non-touristic hills of Valparaiso. As our children finished school in Chile and started their studies in Europe, our family team is splitting with Sandra working in Switzerland and Ernesto staying in charge of the B&B here in Valparaiso.
    Our house is a very stylish old adobe building and we tried to maintain as far as possible its particular spirit. There are a lot of trees and plants which transform this spot in a little oasis, giving our guests a chance to chill out a bit when the come back from their touristic activities.
    In the last two years we have got involved in neigboorhoud organisations, doing social work and comunity activities like a shared vegetable growing project with locals, aswell as mainting green areas in public spots in the surroundings of our house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will definitly use and improve your language skills, as most of our guests during summer come from all over the world. There will be a lot of free time giving you the chance to learn about the "real" life in a latin country as our neighborhood is absolutely traditional with schools, kindergarden and a lot of little shops, giving you oportunities to interact with the "porteños". Beside that, Valparaiso as the cultural capital of Chile is a very interesting city with plenty of activities.

  • Help

    Help

    It would be wonderful when you would help out with the logistics of the B&B, as we are running the whole business just in family.
    There is a lot of maintenance to do in public green areas around our home and in the comunity vegetable garden project.
    Occasionally there will be other things like watering plants, cleaning the swimming pool or help with the shopping
    You will have for sure a lot of free time to explore the beautiful city and the surroundings.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom in the part of the house where the family lives. Food is provided completely by the family and when we don´t share schedules to eat together of course you are free to use the kitchen whenever you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Despite we live in an quiet part of the city, public transport is very easy and cheap and works also late at night. There are also direct connecting buses to Viña del Mar, so you will be able to go to the beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 447846226813

Feedback (18)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)




























Help us in our Hostel and Build a Self-Sufficient Farm from scratch Puerto Montt, Chile
Home and pet sit in a small countryhouse close to the mountains in Chile