Aupair and Help with Horses, in Southwestern Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is not a paid position.

    We like to have 2 workawayers stay with us all year. One AuPair and one person for horse related. We are currently looking to book an AuPair starting in September and would like for them to stay for a minimum of 6 months.

    Small horse training farm in Southwestern Ontario, Canada with approximately 15 boarded English riding horses that employes 1 full time and 1 part time employees. Some of the boarded horses are just pets, others aspire for greatness. A lot of work is done with young horses in many disciplines including dressage, hunter jumper, field horses.

    Wife, mother, awesome human. is in charge of the horse farm. She's very talented at what she does and has the most amazing laugh. There is a lot of hard work but also a lot to learn.

    Husband, father, ok dude. I have a business in the nearby city but help out on the farm after work and weekends. My jobs here have more to do with the upkeep of the lawns and gardens. I leave the horses to the professionals.

    Small boy of 8 years, cool dude.) He loves to meet new people and takes a keen interest. He loves to help with chores and play outside.

    Small girl 5 years old. She also loves to meet new people and help out. Princess on minute, mud soaked, horse riding cow girl the next.

    This opportunity is for those who love to work with horses, during showing season there will be opportunity to show and participate in clinics.(At your own expense) We have lots of work for non horse people too.

    You will be given a spacious room in our family home and live like one of the family. We will invite you to participate in a variety of family outings and can help organize any travel for your days off.

    We would prefer longer stays, a month minimum. Exceptions might be made during the summer, especially for someone would is ideally fit for a specific project.

    We are carnivores but will do our best to accommodate various diets. You may need to show us how to cook it though.

    I would love to live off of the land more than we do. I built a green house last year and will be growing lots form there. We also have fruit tree that haven't been taken care of, someone bringing them back would be great.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ I would love to build an apartment above one of our barns to host Workawayers from around the world. My dream is to build the entire thing from reused material with the help of Workawayers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Immersion into Canadian culture, you will live like we live. There will be opportunity for day trips and travel to get to know Canada.
    There is no end to what could be learned about horses. It's a lot of hard work but for those who love horses it's very rewarding. There are opportunities to participate in clinics, depending on level of experience.
    A lot of the work done her is getting young horses comfortable with the basics.

    To find out about all the stuff to do in the area. Look up Experience Wellington

  • Help

    Help

    Anyone know how to build a yurt?

    There are tasks all year round with additional projects in the summer.
    Day starts by turning out the horses followed by cleaning out the stalls. When this is completed you would be required to get horses ready to be ridden by the trainer. Depending on your riding ability the rest of the afternoon can be spent riding horses.

    Other duties include general upkeep, cleaning, yard work etc. The day ends with turning the horses back into the barn and feeding.

    We have a big ash tree that has to come down and get chopped up. (Ash Bore is destroying these trees around here unfortunately).
    There is a culvert that needs to be dug
    Painting
    Roof repair (Tar roof landing needs to be replaced)
    Yard care.
    Child Care (Our two awesome little humans are off from school over the summer.)

    Come for a week or more and help us out.

    There are a lot of music festivals in the area, hiking, biking, boating, fishing, etc. You will be welcome on most family outings and we try to make time to do fun things. That said, we will not have the time to be tour guides. Your time off is your time to fill.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Spacious room in our family home.
    As part of the family you will eat with us and have full access to the kitchen and its contents

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live about an 1.5 hours from Toronto in a smaller town called Fergus out in the country. We have two small children, 3 dogs, a lot of horses and a lizard.
    On the weekends we like to entertain our friends with dinner parties or bon fires.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Min 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 447578873553

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more