Join us on our vibrant Queensland cattle farm, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/11/2019

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️Our year ahead is a little uncertain at this stage so immediate and short term suits us best at the moment :-)

    We have only been back on the family farm about a year so we are still settling in to our new home (but an old house) and the garden is still a big work in progress. Aggie could use some help around the home and with our active 4 year old as we also have a little girl who will be one in May so life is extra busy! We have spent the last few years in lots of places - Scotland/UK, Europe, Kununurra, Broome, Charleville, so we are looking forward to settling down a little but want to have some travel experience by having travellers come to us!

    We're living on one of the small farms that is part of an extended family farming operation spanning 5 generations and a century. It is a special place with quite a communal ethos that we a privileged to be a part of. It's not far from major towns (by Australian standards) but it can feel beautifully remote!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would be exposed to a rich farming history with it's roots in Switzerland and an amazing amount of knowledge on all sorts of topics. From various farming methods to philosophy and politics - it is a unique environment.

  • Help

    Help

    In exchange for a few hours (max 5) you will have your own cosy room and all meals provided. If travelling as a couple or pair the second person could help out with the farm work.

    The priority for helpers is at our home/garden but there will also be the opportunity to participate in the farm activities if you're interested. These include working with cattle in the yards, mustering in the forest, milking the cows, horses, motorbikes, tractors, lots of fixing things, helping with veggie gardens....lots of variety although sometimes this involves longer days but there is plenty of flexibility. It's a busy, vibrant place and we have lots of knowledge and connections across Australia so really happy to help with any travel plans. Would suit someone seeking some time out from backpacker scene, creative, easy going and happy to hang out with a busy three year old (and busy farm). Collection and transport can readily be arranged from Toowoomba, Dalby or Chinchilla.

    Gardeners are welcome as we plan to establish a large scale self sufficient vegetable garden and orchard. Anyone with knowledge or interest in organic gardening, permaculture and garden design or just lots of enthusiasm would be most welcome! It's a beautiful spot and we are very excited about creating a special place!

    Aggie, Emile, Digby and Matilda

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and very minimal spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a room in the large timber house with us. It's quite comfortable but there is certainly some "rustic charm"... It is a sparsely populated district with most towns an hours drive away so if you can't be without your socialising and night life this probably isn't the place for you - think quiet, peaceful, country...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 447314627554