Help a young couple to restore a castle, classified as a historic monument near Giverny, France

Country

France

new host   Last minute

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young French couple with a 2 years old kid and a dog. This summer we have buy this wonderful castle from the 16th century in the Vexin Normand close to Giverny. France. It's 50 min from Paris by car /train. We are currently renovating the building and its gardens to restore its past glory. I'm a photographer and my wife is an art director. We leave in between Paris and Normandy so my wife and my kid will probably come mostly during weekend.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you will leave in a castle rich of 500 years of history. Volunteers will learn the local and regional history of the Castle. We will be more than happy to tell volunteers about the extraordinary past of our home where the legend tells that the queen Blanche de Castille used to stay when she went to the nearby abbey. You will discover life in typical French village. The solidarity between peoples her is very strong. Our house is in the most beautiful part of the Vexin.

  • Help

    Help

    This winter we will mostly work on gardening. We need help in our 14 acres of garden and meadows. You don’t need specific skills to help, a simple willingness to help and a practical sense is enough. We will plant hedges, a wood and an orchard. We also want to prepare the kitchen garden and arrange things to live as much as possible in self sufficiency. There are also some woodwork, and knowledge in this could be good.
    We can also consider masonry help if you are interested.
    If you like olds motors , you will be served and we will try to restart my motorcycles, tractor and car from the 30's to the 70's.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, and I ve to remember my spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom into the castle. We cook as much as possible locals bio products and we will be pleased if you help to prepare meals. We produce our own eggs and jam. More details on our house: We just bought it and everything is not perfect yet. We heat well the kitchen and a bathroom and livingroom. The temperature in the other rooms (including) bedrooms can therefore be quite cold (around 18°C) but we have good covers. The beds are new and premium quality. The house is clean. Internet connexion is only by my phone so it's enough to check email but not a lot more. We have 3G-4G network. The majority of the work to be done is outdoor.
    We must prepare the lands before planting the trees. My wife and my son will be there only during weekend.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ideally located at 11km from Claude Monet's famous house in Giverny, the castle is located at Bus Saint Rémy, in Upper Normandy. It's 75 km from Paris, between sea and countryside, the castle is also a place of rest and conviviality for all nature lovers, starting point for many hiking in Normandy Vexin.

    This rural region is characterized by the diversity of its landscapes, its smells of forests, its brooks and its green meadows, or that they are curious to discover the castles of Bizy, Villarceaux, La Roche Guyon, or Ambleville and their exceptional gardens, abbeys and cathedrals such as Vernon, Evreux, Rouen or many singular museums as well to visit.

    You can use our bikes to visit our beautiful lands

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 445543146266