Welcome to join ecological family farm in Heraniemi, Finland

Country

Finland

updated  

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are family of mom and 3 children living on a traditional farm by Koli national park and nature protected areas. Our home is high up on a hill with a view far away. We have moved here to north-karelia in this summer and now is lots of work to do before the winter and next spring: fixing the old sheep-fences, preparing the garden, gathering berries, mushrooms and wild herbs, making firewood, different renovation work here and there... and of course having fun with the kids!

    We live simple life here, enjoying exploring surrounding nature and swimming and fishing in the forestlake close by or other lakes around.

    Next summer we will have sheep here with us helping to take care of the natural lanscape and meadows around, for keeping the meadows open there will be work of cutting away bushes and weeding away unwanted invasive plants.

    I am also doing trational sauna treatments in our log sauna
    and for that, and for food too, I gather many willd herbs.
    I am really happy to have help in gathering herbs.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a peaceful place in beautiful Finnish nature and here you can learn about wild plants, mushrooms and berries and singing some Finnish songs and simple living in the countryside with children.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are happy for help in our daily life tasks like cooking and cleaning and doing things with children,

    Extra hands are needed in fixing the old sheep-fences, carrying firewood, preparing the garden, cutting wood, fixing the road,
    gathering wild herbs, berries and mushrooms and in renovation work in old buildings here or new building projects.

    If you are experienced log builder we would have a long term project for you!

    It is good that you already have experience of doing work in the countryside and that you are able to work independently following instructions and you know how to use common hand tools and you can live with hundreds of mosquitos and nettles around :) Or -30 celcius in the winter and no streetlights anywhere close by.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the summer time you can sleep in wooden hut "aitta" in the yard, or in a yurt
    and all year-around in the house - in own room or shared room, depending of the moment.

    We have a compost toilet outside only.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I use to travel earlier, with bicycle trough europe and hitch-hiking around and I am very happy and thankful for all the meetings on those journeys. Now I dont have big craving in travelling far but I would be happy to meet some new people and hear your stories.

    I wish you can find independently interesting things for you in your free time in the surrounding nature, hiking or skiinging or in Koli village 15 kilometres away.
    Nearest bus stop is 8 kilometres away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)





Host ref number: 444971449968