Dogwalking in the Serra do Monchique

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Kathryn English (58) and Adam Stapleton (61). We live in a spacious house in the Serra do Monchique, surrounded by cork oak trees, overlooking citrus terraces, with a handsome view down to Portimao and the sea beyond. We have four sons (19-25). We have five dogs (two of whom were abandoned), three cats and two doves. One of our neighbours helps with the housework. Our other neighbour helps with the vegetables and the orchards (horta).
    Both Kathryn and Adam were both formerly criminal barristers in London and since the 1990s have worked internationally in the area of governance and criminal justice reform (mainly in Africa and South Asia). We are currently working between Dhaka, Bangladesh and Mogadishu, Somalia. We travel a great deal.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Monchique is 10 minutes away by car and 30 by bicycle. It is a charming town and has many bars and one in particular that is open til the early hours. The west coast (Aljezur) is 30 mins away (by car) and has a range of wild and rugged beaches. Surfing is world class. The south coast is more genteel and touristy and has more restaurants etc to offer. The Algarve has a strong cultural tradition and the Tourism office in Monchique publishes a monthly 'what's on' pamphlet with theatre, dances and festivals within an easy drive. People around Monchique are not conversant in English so there is a good opportunity to improve or learn Portuguese. We have a good library.
    This said, this is Portugal not Spain: people are steady and undemonstrative, so if it is spontaneous outpourings of song and dance you seek, this isn't it.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to host one person or a couple for a week or two between October to mid December and possibly in January to June 2020 to exercise the dogs in the morning and evening and ensure the menagerie are fed and watered. All the dogs are friendly. There are two Rafeiro Alentejanos (large mastiffs) and the other three are medium sized mongrels.
    The terraces are extensive. Most are planted with orange, lemon, grapefruit, lime trees as well as apricot and plum.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house has 8 bedrooms and you will have your own double room with en suite shower and WC. Your room opens on one side to a swimming pool and on the other to a courtyard and is very private. The house has wifi and TV and a stack of DVDs. We shall cover your accommodation and food while you are with us. We are happy if you smoke and only ask that you smoke outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have six bicycles in working order. There are glorious walks and rides in the surrounding hills. We have surf and body boards and wet suits. We have skate boards. We have a car for you to drive (you will need it, so one of you will need to have a driving licence). Faro airport is one hour away on the autoroute. This is your nearest airport. Lisbon is 3,5 hours away by bus (from Portimao or Lagoa).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 444154454242