Come and share a bit of our family's "from-scratch" life in an alpine traditional small farm. Sant'Orsola Terme, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everybody, we are a family of 5: me, my husband and our three kids (2003,2005,2008). We live in an "off-grid" farm in the woods 1000 mt above the sea level in the stunning Trentino-SouthTirol region, in the middle of the Alps. Our farm is small, but multi-functional, as old style-farms used to be. We grow our own veggies, we gather our eggs, produce our own honey and some fruit (berries, plums, apples..). We have some sheeps that we keep for wool (and also because we love them so much...;-)). We try to produce as much as we can from scratch, and we love to do things with our own hands (not only farming, but also woodworking and woolworking). We try to live an healthy life: we are vegetarian, like to live outdoor as much as we can, practice sports (running, climbing, mountain trekking).
    Our family is very welcoming, open-minded and lively. We have been hosting volunteers for 8 years now, and we do love it.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Farmstay
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying with us means you can experience small scale farming: you will learn how to grow your vegetables, how to take care of a small flock of sheeps, of hens and bees, how to build with wood. Depending on the season, wool working will be involved: washing, carding, spinning, felting and natural dyeing. We are very much into sourdough bread baking, and we love to share our skills. You'll learn how to preserve your food from scratch (mainly through fermentation, but also jam, chutneys, pickles...).
    The main requirement is curiosity, sense of humor and willing to share a bit of our life in the mountains.
    Our farm and family is not recommended for those seeking only for "work-in-exchange-of-food-and-accomodation", as we intend it as a real exchange and learning experience.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help mainly with farm jobs. Being on a multi-functional farm means that you will not get bored: planting, watering, harvesting veggies, taking care of our animals (sheeps, hens, bees, dog and cats), building with wood, chopping it for fire, wool working from scratch, cooking and preserving veggies and fruit for winter time. We are pretty good in cooking and we love to share our knowledge.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers have their cozy small room, that can accommodate one person or a couple. Bathroom is shared with the family (there are two in the house).
    We respect volunteers privacy as much as we can, but be aware that you'll be sharing our home, spaces and time a lot. Volunteering in our farm means you'll be part of our family as long as you are with us: this is what we do like about hosting people.
    You'll share all meals with us...and we love to learn new cooking tradition and skills from all over the world.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is located on the "southern doors" of Lagorai, a mountain area that is still pretty wild and untouched by mass-tourism. It's perfect for those who love mountain hikes away from the crowds. We are also very close to several mountain lakes, and in the summer you can relax on their shores and swim. Trentino is also well known for its bike-routes, and there is one that runs not too far from us.
    As farmers we have a lot to do but we try to spend time together hiking in the mountains. Part of the family (dad and kids) is very much into climbing, so you can join them, if you like. The farm is in the woods, 2 km away from the first, tiny village. We travel almost daily to villages and town, and we can give you a lift if needed, but be aware you'll be "off-grid" while at the farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 442367994539