Help around the farm, house and garden located in Rolleston, Canterbury, South Island, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Jeanie and my partner is Mark
    We are located in Rolleston, Canterbury, South Island, New Zealand.
    We own a 4.2ha property with a Truffiere consisting of 720 oak trees.
    We have a large house (I call it a shouse) as it is a 2 story house in a shed. We have 4 bedrooms (1 down and 3 upstairs), 2 bathrooms, 2 lounges (a Media lounge and a living area), large Kitchen and huge garage/shed.
    If you enjoy music we have a full PA system and Mark plays the bass, I love to sing and play the guitar. At present we have a full drum kit setup. Mark plays a variety of music and is always in to listening to new sounds.
    Plenty of room to park or camp.
    I love cooking and enjoy trying different foods from around to world.
    We have farm animals (beef and sheep) and 1 horse (Kiana), 2 dogs (Storm and Lily) and 2 cats (Chopper and Molly) Molly lives down the back of the farm catching mice.
    Our property is a work in progress. We have a workshop which has woodworking equipment for our small business. We own a lawn and garden care business (Greenacres) and a Media Blast business.
    Very busy people. Always lots to do.
    We are close to the river and often take the dogs for a swim. Our animals are very obedient.
    Rolleston is a small town with 2 supermarkets and 2 banks. The Rolleston pool is heated and is a must see. Rolleston is a 20 minute drive from Hornby. The Hub in Hornby is a great place for shopping and has all the major banks.
    We are 20 minutes drive from Christchurch airport.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    General NZ farm lifestyle. Experience working with animals and get to be apart of our family.

    If you have your own transport there is a million and one sights close to Rolleston that you can explore. Rivers, forests, walk ways, beach/sea, heated swimming pool, fishing, biking, hiking, train and bus trips. The train and bus stations are just 2km down the road. There are market days in the township of Rolleston, Lincoln, Leeston and more.... Akaroa and Lyttelton are easy drives or you could stay overnight and explore.
    If you don't have a car we can assist by either dropping you off at either the bus or train station or if we are going into the city for supplies you are more than welcome to come along for the drive.

  • Help

    Help

    This is a general description and will depend on the length of time you stay.
    Gardening either in the vegetable garden or the Truffiere. Taking care of the animals, feeding watering and harvesting dung from Kiana's paddock. General House cleaning. Wash windows and vacuum clean. Cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare bedroom on the top floor with either two single beds or if needed we can exchange it for a queen bed. We have a 4 bedroom house. 1 bedroom is an office downstairs and 2 of the 3 bedrooms upstairs are occupied. We have 2 bathrooms and 1 ensuite, 1 media room with bar and full music PA system. All windows have views of the farm and neighbouring farms

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 441661219842