Join our family around the house and in the garden in Canterbury, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are originally from the UK and the Netherlands and have been in NZ for 8 years. We have just moved to Leithfield and had our baby girl Josie in July 2020.

    We have a one-bedroom apartment above our garage with lounge, bathroom and kitchen available to an individual or couple in return for some help in the house and garden. A car would be beneficial for yourself to get around the area, but not needed, as there's some lovely walks here too (along the river to the beach).

    We have a dog and cat, but our dog does come with a bit of a manual and we only feel comfortable hosting someone who is confident around dogs. Especially as help with some dog walks would be appreciated, once our baby is here.

    You have your own private place to stay, but we would love to have a couple of dinners a week together to get to know you and share our passion for NZ :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a warm welcome and a different perspective to NZ, as we immigrated here 8 years ago. We have ltos of knowledge in that sense, if anyone is considering the same. The area is beautiful if you like nature and peace and yet it's only a 30 to 40 minute drive to Christchurch or a bit more than an hour to Hanmer Springs, if you wanted to explore the region.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love help in the garden, such as getting rid of weeds and planting vegetables. There's some branches that need cutting back and some general tidying that can be done, as we have about 2,000 sqm.

    We would also love help in the house with cooking a couple of meals (generally vegetarian) a week and cleaning. Potentially some dog walking as well, as our two-year-old speagle Monty is very active.

    If anyone is handy, there would be some small projects to do in the garden too, such as creating planter boxes, fixing the compost heap and maybe even building a pizza oven.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self-contained flat above garage with one bedroom, bathroom and open lounge/kitchen area. Furniture is fairly minimal as we have just moved in, but has king bed, couch, camping table as dining table, fridge/freezer, oven/stove and pots and pans etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited WiFi and the connection is reasonable in the flat (router is in the main house). Our last workaways were able to watch Netflix etc.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large parking area at the front of our house, but you can stay in our separate one-bedroom flat.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 439529841489