Help me develop my land near Sao Martinho do Porto bay, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 143 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi I'm Valentina, I have been travelling and working as workawayers for the past year, until I found my piece of land where to work on my own project.
    I'd like to introduce myself

    I'm a 37 years young Neapolitan woman :-)
    I studied psychology in Florence (Italy) where I also worked as promoter of cultural events for a local advertising company. After finishing my studies I moved to South America, where I worked for different NGO as psychologist and social worker.
    In 2010 I moved to ireland where I spent 7 years. I first worked at a project about self sufficiency, I learnt about organic gardening, traditional and ecological building, carpentry, stone wall building, thatching, poultry, learning Do-It-Yourself (DIY) skills, fishing, magazine and book publication, web site creation and maintenance, learning cooking and food preservation skills, hospitality to guests and visitors.
    In Ireland I also studied complementary therapies, like Swedish massage, Thai massage, reflexology and sport and deep tissue massage, and I worked at an health and herbs clinic and shop, blending and dispensing herbal remedies.
    My dream is to create an eco bnb for travellers and tourists. I would also like to create a space for workshops, a healing center. It's a little paradise, surrounded by nature and only 10 minutes driving to the beach.There is a pond on the property and a small stream too. There are 2 houses in need of restoration work, and 6354 m2 of land with forest in need of attention. The place has been abandoned for 6 years, so renovation and land clearing are priorities. I am growing my own vegetables and herbs garden, so there is plenty of organic food for everybody.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning Portuguese, English and Italian. Learning about vegetarian and Italian recipes. Learning about gardening and medicinal plants. Learning about general building, DIY and renovation. Learn about pond maintenance and water management.

  • Help

    Help

    building, renovation, roofing, painting, landscaping, gardening, forest maintenance, painting, restoring furniture, stream clearing, planting trees, making paths through the forest, building French drains, making a tiled patio, building compost toilets, pond maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It's winter! no more tents, accommodation is in a very cosy room, bed next to a big wood burner stove, nice and warm!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In their time off, helpers can relax at the stunning Sao Martinho do Porto bay or visit one of the surrounding historical towns, like Alcobaça or Batalha with their beautiful monasteries. Helpers can also enjoy hiking as the area offers amazing paths in the forests.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 434115549722