Join us on our farm and help us keep it pretty while you practice your Spanish in Cómbita, Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/03/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living in the Colombian Andes Mountains. The house is located 3 hours away (by Car/Bus) from the capital (Bogota), in a quiet and peaceful region. There are good public transportation options, a confortable accomodation, and we can provide you with guidance during your stay. Our family moved from the city to the farm some years ago, we are not 100% farmers, but we like the farmer-life a lot. Sometimes we host small events in the farm (ecotourism). We also have a great relation with local ("real") farmers, in case you are interested. The locals are caring and lovely people. Also, our Spanish accent happens to be quite clean and easy to understand (if you want to improve/or learn the language this is a good place!). Our parents only speak Spanish, my sister and I speak English but we usually are there during the weekends. Also, we are always open to new cultures and like to share and experience traditions with our visitors. Our family will offer you a great opportunity to practice your Spanish.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can recharge your spirit, get inspired by local's lifestyle, learn/improve Spanish, share experiences with our family. We like to cook and share meals together, play traditional board games and enjoy family time.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in gardening (watering plants, planting, harvesting), making the farm more attractive (artists/DIYers welcome), cleaning, taking care of animals (dog and cat), social media marketing, organizing events, teaching English to our parents and involving the local community. Sharing recipes and cultural exchange experiences are always welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Furnished 18m2 bedroom in a house in the countryside, with private bathroom, and shared kitchen. Your room has a bed, a chair and a desktop. Other facilities are warm water, WLAN access in the main house, full-equipped kitchen to share. We would like to share some meals with you on weekdays, although the kitchen is always open. We would love to learn some new recipes from your country. On weekends meals are not offered, so you are free to use the kitchen or plan a trip in the local area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You have plenty of options to spend your free time: you can spend time in the farm and with locals, some events take place in the closest town (5000 inhabitants) 15 min away by foot. If you miss the city life, you can take a bus which goes every 30 minutes to the closest city (300.000 Inhabitants), where you can have plenty of options/activities and also the possibility to meet more English-speakers. If you want to explore even more, you can visit the small colonial towns in the region, all accessible by car/bus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 433761259972