Come and help us in our chateau near Calais, Northern France

Country

France

Favourited 466 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    51.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Tim and Margreeth owners of a small chateau in the North of France, about an hour from Calais.
    We are looking for enthusiastic hands-on helpers ( preferably couples or friends) to help us with hosting guests, cleaning rooms and assisting with cooking and the occasional gardening job.
    We live in a small, quiet village but there is a car and some bikes you can use on your days off. The area is very rural and beautiful. A great place for long walks and cycling. We are near some pretty seaside villages and it's easy to take the train to Amiens or Paris.
    Our volunteers can stay in a romantic gipsy caravan in the woods or a spare room in the chateau.
    No smokers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The chateau is a great place to stay and to explore the unspoiled region. The volunteers can learn what it's like to run a B&B, meet lots of people and practise their English or French.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    The help includes gardening, general maintenance of the place and some buiilding projects.

    IN EXCHANGE WE OFFER:
    Breakfast, lunch, dinner;
    Free accommodation;
    Language practice, great library, experience of local culture and nature;
    Meeting international travelers.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A romantic gipsy caravan which offers a lot of privacy or a room in the chateau.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can visit lovely sea-side places like St Valery-sur-Somme and Le Crotoy or larger towns like Amies, Lille or Paris. The area we live in is very rural, so ideal for long walks and bike rides. Of course the helpers can also relax around the chateau. We have a beautiful park with animals, trampolines and a swimming pool.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






















Host ref number: 433158454414