Help with a new organic farm and cultural project in the mountains of la Mussara, near the sea, in Spain

Country

Spain

updated   Last minute

Favourited 349 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ATTENTION!................SHORT TERM HELP NEEDED:

    From JANUARY 2020 until beggining MARCH 2020 we need A LOVELY PERSON that can take care of his/herself.
    The job: specificcally to come take care of our DOG + 9 PUPPIES. At least for 2 WEEKS.

    Mona is working elsewhere, Júlia is pregnant and will be translating at home, so the person should basically:
    1) take care of the animals and
    2) make fire/pick wook/do the small chores that Júlia cannot do with her big belly.

    PLEASE WRITE IF YOU CAN COME THESE DATES

    --------------------------------------------------------------


    Salut!

    here are Mona and Júlia talking to you (mainly Júlia, Mona frowns, rolls her eyes and smiles).
    We need your help to continue the very big project that we started almost 3 years ago… we started restaurating a very old farm (XVI century) and its agricultural landscape that was abandoned since the spanish civil war and was endangered by different sorts of speculators. Our project has 2 sides, we have the double intention of:
    1) having a diverse, lively organic farm and garden in the middle of the natural landscape of la Mussara and
    2) hosting a Creative Residency, an open space which holds the same principles as an Artistic Residency that includes not only artists but creators of all kinds: scientists, social scientists and researchers may come to write their PhD's articles or essays, craftsman may come and summon their craft, and writers, musicians, painters and other artists could come to do their thing in an environment other than the city.

    So far, we have managed to prepare 4,5 hectares of land that will be planted again this spring; we have restored a small separate house that we rent if we're lucky; we fixed an ancient tractor that has sweet, beetle vibes and helps us a lot; we provided the farm with chickens, water, warm water and a solar energy system… oh, and working toilets too.

    Mona is a jazz saxophone player and a true cowgirl at heart. Júlia has worked in the radio, is a literary translator and a botanist in her imagination. We were both shepherdesses in Switzerland.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is impossible to land in this house and not find oneself talking about the universe and beyond... expect stimulating conversation, stimulating silence in the middle of nature, language exchange, flying thoughts on/about/for humanity, literature, politics, religion, cuisine, esthetics... while we eat together or work in the fields

  • Help

    Help

    ATTENTION!................SHORT NOTICE HELP NEEDED: from JANUARY untill the 25th. FEBRUARY 2020!!!

    We need A LOVELY PERSON specificcally to come take care of our DOG + PUPPIES. At least for 2 WEEKS.

    Mona is working elsewhere, Júlia is pregnant and will be translating at home, so the person should basically:
    1) take care of the animals and
    2) make fire/pick wook/do the small chores that Júlia cannot do with her big belly.

    PLEASE WRITE IF YOU CAN COME THESE DATES



    ----------------------------------
    We are at the beginning of our project so we need help in any way you could provide: planting, cutting wood, preparing the fields, weeding, building, restoring, watering, taking care of animals, cooking, cleaning, painting, gardening, harvesting…
    The help needed to be done is mostly manual laboring. If you have any special skills or have experience in organic farming or building or just love to do household work please tell us, so that we know what to expect. In any circumstance, you are most welcome to come.

    We need independent, culturally curious, flexible, respectful, hardworking people.
    We need a pair of hands with brains.

    Oh, and very importantly: we will enjoy and are most curious of anything that you could teach us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    català, español, english, deutsch, françois, italiano, portugues

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The farm is located in the mountains of La Mussara, in the woods between the villages of Vilaplana, l'Albiol and la Selva del Camp, in the south of Catalonia, Spain. You will be in a beautiful mediterranean landscape with the ocean at the horizont.
    The farm house is huuuuge and half of it in ruins. In the livable half you will have a room of your own or share with your partner if you wish to come together.
    Important to know: you will be our roommate for the time you are with us, which means that you are expected to help with everyday chores without having to be reminded of it (cleaning, taking rubish out etc) and you should feel at home.

    We live with 3 cats and 1 dog.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please, contact us only if you really want to work with us. We work and party hard and have a lot to do. If you want a free vacation, please don't contact us.
    We are very sorry but we cannot keep up with the amount of people wishing to volunteer with us -we take only 2 people at a time, exept in the summer, and not the whole year round- and sometimes we cannot answer all your requests. Sorry for that.
    Keep in mind that you will live in the countryside with no public transport, we will try to bring you up and down wherever you need and will lend you a bike.

    We give honesty, respect and flexibility and we expect the same.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 432193888974