Help out in a small family living in rural west of Ireland ,County Sligo near the Wild Atlantic way.

Country

Ireland

new host   Last minute

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
Join now to contact this host
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family living in rural west of Ireland ,County Sligo near the Wild Atlantic way. We are surrounded by green fields , stone walls , sheep ,cows ,some houses , mountain view and distant sea view .We are friendly and helpful .
    We are so excited we initiated and supported this seal rescue on our local beach . He is doing well in the Irish Seal Rescue Centre. Eventually he will be released back into the ocean .

    Hosts ; Career in contemporary art and third level education.
    Interested in the exchange of cultural, creative, thoughts, art forms, music, song, dance, healing, mindfulness, tai chi,energy and spirituality.

    Primarily career work with contemporary visual art / live performance art, installation, photography, video, sculpture, public art, community, but also music, dance, song, poetry, storytelling, social and cultural heritage.

    We have a great love of Irish Cultural Heritage.

    Other passions, learning about healing, energy work, spiritual paths, practice, mindfulness, mental health and wellness.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love cultural exchange , song , dance ,music etc. We can teach you . We can show you local archeological spiritual energetic sites. The general area is a tourist destination with beautiful landscape. Good for those who want to walk , hike , cycle or simply sit and look at the mountain and the sheep.

  • Help

    Help

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week,or 3-4 hours a day, but we are also very flexible with the schedule . We need people who are independent and self motivated.
    Domestic duties , cleaning ,cooking are daily activities for every home. Some internet research , declutter , organise storage , dog and cat care .

    Practical tasks to be done at present range from daily home domestic to DIY, gardening, to household maintenance, budgeting to internet research.

    We got a little dog named Milo. Born the first of June 2018. Need help with dog sitting, learning his care and grooming , exercise, finding a method to train him, ,and building a fence, doggy door, dog house etc

    Apart from regular daily domestic tasks, we welcome support/ advice / suggestions with organisation, budgeting ,time management, goal setting and motivation.

    We would love someone to be encouraging and a positive inspirational energy in our home.

    In relation to practical tasks we would like help with lots of cleaning,spring cleaning deep cleaning , cooking, house and garden maintenance. DIY tasks, organisation, planning, learning to, declutter ,cease pattern of collecting, setting up storage solutions and systems, home office set up,budgeting system, . internet research, implementing structures ,systems for house, home, garden, life style for clarity and easy action flow of a less stressful daily life etc.

    We suggest an average of approximately 4 /5 hours work a day ( but we are very flexible ) in exchange full free accommodation (bed, food, utilities). We try to be vegetarian, and healthy eaters but we have one meat eater in our home. We provide all the basic food and helpers can buy their own junk food

    As expected in shared living spaces, they must be kept clean and tidy with consideration for others. It is expected that guests have respect for the difference between shared and private property.

    We are very flexible on a working schedule depending on Irish weather and other commitments in life.

    When we have time and energy we enjoy driving our helper guests around on our own personal guided tours, doing activities together, getting to know one another and sharing our skills, knowledge and interests.
    We also assume that we share mutual respect and support each other.
    It is important to us that guests in our home are honest, trustworthy and can maintain confidentiality about private lives when requested. We need someone independent , self motivated , who can use their own initiative .
    You need to be prepared for hectic busy days with family visitors and then very quiet days with hours on your own with only your feet ( or bicycle) for independent movement.

    You will have quiet time at home alone with puppy Milo with lots of free time and then some busy long days with lots to do , according to family scheduled.

    Our home is a detached 3 bedroom in a green field less than an acre, ( 0.3 hectare ) countryside, west of Ireland , near a few houses, stone walls, green fields sheep , 1 little dog ,2 outdoor cats , between the Atlantic Ocean and Benbulben mountain range.

    We do our best to be welcoming, friendly, accepting and non-judgmental hosts.

    We can be very flexible about most things in terms of duties, length of stay etc. it all depends on how well we all get on together. We think of you as a helpful guest in our home, we are supporting each other.
    We value and expect honesty, trustworthiness, kindness, empathy and confidentiality.

    We are creating a sleeping loft attic space upstairs for helper/s so we can use the spare room to generate income for air b n b or something like that.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Mother tongue English .A little Irish Spanish French Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a spare private guest bedroom with a double bed in our family home. WiFi always available. We buy all the basic foods.

    Currently helper/s have a private bedroom (double bed) in our home.
    If we have extra family visiting on a weekend helpers often use the sleeping loft for those few nights.

    Location : House is approximately 4 km north of Grange village with shop little supermarket, cafe with free Wi-Fi , pub with food and music , post office, RC church, pharmacy, doctor,dentist, playground, sports centre etc.
    We have 2 bicycles.

    There is a very limited amount of bus public transport from Grange village to Sligo town/city.(Another 17km south)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    County Sligo is a good tourist destination . Where we live is best known for beautiful landscape, rich historical and cultural heritage.  Lots of outdoor activities in this area. Sea, beaches, river lake, waterfall , hills, dramatic Benbulben mountain outside your window .Famous surfing spots, lots of water sports ,boat trips, fishing, horse riding, horse racing, hill walking, hiking, cycling, bird watching, golf and across the bay an aero club. Gaelic football, hurling, soccer. Sligo county known as "The Yeats County" had the grave of famous poet WB Yeats. Lissadell house and gardens was home to Countess ( Gorebooth ) Markieviecz, the first woman in parliament. Lots of archaeology, dolmens, megalithic tombs and stone circles and fairy forts. Round tower, castle and an old stately home.. Monastic settlement remains on Innishmurray Island and curious shape of Knocknarea Mountain in the distance. Sligo town 20 kilometres away, 20,000 people, has a cinema, theatre. museum, arts centre , galleries, kids indoor play centre, shopping, pubs , live music, lectures, nightclubs, restaurants , internet cafe,  third level educational institution and a festival most weekends . A collection of paintings by WB  Yeats brother Jack  , swimming pool, leisure centre and the Sligo Rovers Soccer Football club. Surrounding region has several spa hotels, cookery school and famous seaweed baths. South county Sligo gave us the famous Sligo style of Irish traditional music, visit birds of prey a folk park and a little fairy themed park
    County Sligo is a good tourist destination but as with all of rural Ireland it is difficult to access without your own transport. Public transport is minimal.There are two bicycles .


    Getting here to Sligo?
    Options for Airports are Dublin, Shannon, and Belfast The closest is the little West of Ireland International one also called Knock in County Mayo.(West of Ireland airport)
    Public transport by bus from the airports.
    There is a Dublin Sligo train but also a Bus Eireann (national bus company) directly from Dublin airport to Sligo a few times a day. From Dublin Airport research your flight arrival time and departure of Expressway Route 23 to Sligo bus station. Usually we can collect you in Sligo town bus or train station. Otherwise if that is not possible , there are some busses going the 20 kilometers north to Grange Village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week ,

Waterfall Glencar
Streedagh beach
The neighbours bog, saving turf for the winter fire
Milo our dog After a big hair cut
IT Sligo Art Action on Climate Change
A rescue seal
Host ref number: 431489424124