Looking for couple or single to help out with garden, learn farm skills and general housework in Western Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/06/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4. My husband (38) and I (35) have 2 primary school aged children and live in Mobrup Western Australia. We are 50km from our nearest town of Kojonup. Which is about 3- 3 half hour drive south of Perth.

    We have a working farm that runs sheep,cattle as well as crops and have many other farm animals including horses, chickens, dogs and two pet kangaroos.

    We are an active, hard working family who, despite our isolation,have busy lives involving our local sporting clubs (tennis, AFL, Hockey, Polocrosse) and community committees.

    We have travelled to the UK, Europe and New Zealand multiple times and love travelling to other parts of Australia too.

    I work part time as a high school teacher in our local town and my husband is full time on the farm so we are looking for people who have good initiative and can be trusted to work independently when necessary.

    We have had an English couple to stay in the past and we just loved the experience.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are willing to teach visitors about livestock handling, how to erect a fence, how we run our farm and to take them in with our family and enjoy good food and conversation.
    We have a car available so visitors can explore the local area and there is a bus that comes to town on the Perth to Albany route. As an English teacher I could attempt to help with any language barriers 😊

  • Help

    Help

    There would be some tidying up from our new renovations, helping with the children and housework and it would be great if one of the couple was confident around horses as the children will be attending a local riding school- but not compulsory.
    Visitors need to know that farms deal with life and death of animals and this can be challenging for some people.
    There would be an opportunity for paid work on the farm as needed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a newly renovated 6 bedroom farmhouse which will be shared with our family. Guests have their own bathroom.
    We have limited internet but have foxtel tv.
    Evening meals will mostly be with the family and food will be supplied for all meals.
    If there are any “extras” (such as alcohol) they are available in town to purchase.
    This is probably the time to mention that vegetarians will struggle in our household.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a car available so drivers will need to have a current drivers licence. We live far from town with many kangaroos on the road so drivers must be responsible and safe.
    We are early risers 6-6.30am due to necessity as well as having young children, we tend to go to bed early but our bedrooms are away from the living area so guests can set their own bedtime.
    If you have any serious medical needs then we are far from emergency services so our farm may not be the best choice for you
    In saying all of this we have some great local vineyards to visit, wildflower season has just started and we have lots of bushland to walkthrough.
    If you expertly ride horses then there is some beautiful country to ride through. we have so many pets (who remain outside) to interact with and we love where we live and what we do.
    There will be an opportunity to return back in the future if you enjoy your stay and we have many friends around Australia we can set you up with for future travel.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 431287713132