Experience life a the little seaside town of Gibsons in Canada and help with gardening & general maintenance

Country

Canada

new host  

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    64.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are finding it difficult to keep up gardening and pruning on our property and could use some help! We enjoy attempting to do it ourselves but its just too much for us now. We have a large residential property that backs on to a ravine with lots of trees and bushes. It It is important for us to have a work life balance to also be able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The property is a block to the beach in the seaside town of Gibsons British Columbia Canada. There are lots of beaches to explore and hiking and biking trails. We are only a 40 minute ferry ride away from Vancouver so you can go in for the day and return back to our place which is much more peaceful. My partner and I enjoy being our on the water as much as possible, boating and kayaking. You are welcome to join us! My partner is also a really good cook so that is a bonus! We look forward to meeting new people and love to travel! We are easy going and hope to make your stay enjoyable and fun!
    Currently we only have Oct 8th to 15th available to host a workawayer but may find another stretch of time late in November. If its too rainy for yard work we have some inside small painting jobs we could try and work on!

    Thanks Please get in touch!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in coastal British Columbia just steps away from the beach and walking distance from the wharf and restaurants and shops. You would not need a car to enjoy this seaside little town. You would likely experience seeing some wildlife like a bald eagle, deer and possibly a bear. (We steer clear of the bear and he likes to stay clear of us but we see him now and then.) We also are lucky enough to be around owls and hear them mostly in the late summer. You will likely easily see seals and otters in the ocean and if you are lucky you might see a killer whale. (Just saw three in August in the ocean just near our house). Our town is friendly also so if you are looking for a coastal Canadian experience I would have to say this is pretty sweet scenario.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello! We have a large residential property in Gibson's British Columbia; a block away from the ocean. Our property is old and backs on to a ravine and we have many trees and bushes, is pretty and tranquil. Our place is very private and quiet as the ravine is a large forested area we back on to. We find the amount of pruning and garden clean up in the spring a fall season a bit much for us to do on our own. I have back issues my partner has hip issues. So we are looking for help with this. We have all the tools. We sometimes use an electric baby chainsaw (8" blade)that is on a pole but that is pretty easy to use. Some of the work would require being on a ladder to reach the taller things needing to be pruned. We have a large trailer that we collect everything in and I drive it about 2 miles to a green waste disposal area. Oh and we have a small dog that might need a short walk here and there if you like dogs!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, little bit of German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an older cottage and it has a small guest cabin with a queen size bed. It has internet and TV. There is no bathroom in the cabin but there is one that is shared with one other person. There is a second fridge available to use, sink and microwave. We mostly are at work during the day and can have lunch and breakfast set up for you and for dinner we can cook a meal and eat together. My partner is a really good cook so that is also a bonus! We have a small friendly dog that will likely want to be friends with you too!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of beaches and hiking trails to explore and we are walking distance to some nice restaurants cafes and pubs. We are also close to Vancouver by taking a 40 minute ferry ride. You can go into Vancouver in the morning and come back later in the day.
    As far as getting along with us; we are pretty easy going. We like the outdoors, cycling, boating, kayaking and camping and traveling. We are in our mid 50's. We expect that someone who is visiting that they are quiet, respectful and friendly!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 428783756221