Explore Toronto and help me around my house and garden. Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    53

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a lovely space for a Workaway to stay and you would be very welcome to my home which is comfy and cosy. I'm semi-retired in a career I love. This mobile (modular) home is on the Mimico Greenway and connects to Humber River Estuary and is an ideal location for someone who enjoys hiking or biking as plenty of lovely trails close by. The neighborhood is unique in its own way as an example of an accessible, affordable, housing project on cooperatively owned land (established for 50 yrs). Ask me about the music video made here a few years back as an interesting aside! A bike is available.

    I used to be an avid gardener with a naturalized area on the ravine. I still enjoy time outdoors but find it challenging recently to keep up. I'd love to host a friendly person who would enjoy the opportunity to explore Toronto and other interesting areas nearby. You would be welcome to use this as a home-base for trips away while you are here. Host is very familiar with events and locations of interest in the area and would be pleased to assist you in finding your way around. Also happy when available to drive you to transit hubs.

    Generally there is a student staying and sometimes that means the workaway may need to be female. This coming spring I'm hoping for a workaway who is handy and doesn't mind outdoor work including repairing some areas of insulation under the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In the suburbs 5 minutes from Pearson Airport (the main airport for Toronto Canada) and within 20 minutes to the city of Toronto. Good transit system with go train, express buses and local travel all very handy. Interesting environment of a co-op housing arrangement of trailers/mobile homes. Our trailer is on the ravine, so it is woodsy and quite pretty with walking trails out back. Toronto and surrounding area have many interesting places to see and is central for travel to other cities (we can be flexible-please discuss). May and June are enerally very nice months weather-wise with plenty of sun.

    English Speaking host pleased to assist with English language skills and help you practice!

  • Help

    Help

    This spring we're hoping for help around the house, inside and outside. With two or three major jobs needing done this season. Here are a few things we need help with, let us know what you like to do/what you're good at and we can discuss it! Please be tidy and love to cook. Must love animals (small dog and 2 cats).

    A few challenging jobs this spring: for example a) reinforcing of the bathroom floor and may or may not include re-setting sink, toilet, shower. B) A few areas under the house where the insulation has come loose need to be tidied and insulation re-stuffed/installed.

    Handy-person and gardening: for example, caulking windows, repairing walls, painting, gardening (clearing the garden, cutting down small area of brush, piling wood etc).

    Or if you're a skilled arborist or woodcutter willing to secure or prune/remove a dead elm, that would be awesome!

    I'm interested in having a website so if you know how to build a basic site or teach me how to build or maintain a site that would be wonderful too!

    Sewing and altering clothes would be helpful also.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A friendly host and a quiet home with small dog and 2 cats. Clean home quite large (1200 sq ft), you have a private room furnished. We live 5 minute walk to stores, restaurants etc. Ask if there is something you need that isn't mentioned.

    Host can provide basic ingredients for meals: eggs, bread, cereal, burgers, cheese etc. Please ask if you have alternative requirements/suggestions for arranging meals/food. Host is friendly and welcoming but only an adequate cook.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    4 hours a day of work 5 days a week. There are endless places to go and ways to spend your time with transit less than a minute walk from the host home. Host very willing to provide you with ideas and suggestions for places to visit and some local highlights.

    Host is a semi-retired therapist, enjoys a quiet life but is friendly, warm and thoughtful. If you enjoy listening to music please bring your headphones : )

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 427717567559