Help us with our beehives and share knowledge in Barss Corner, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple living on 9 acres of fields and woodland in a cozy house with 3 bedrooms, a cat, and a giant woodworking shop in a separate building. We have gardens, and 25 beehives that produce enough honey to sell a a local farmer's market. We are in an old rural part of Nova Scotia that is being rejuvenated by families interested in homesteading.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an opportunity to learn something about beekeeping, or share knowledge you already have. This is in a rural, old farm region of Nova Scotia.

  • Help

    Help

    I have 25 hives of bees and need help with spring feeding, doing splits (making 2 hives out of 1 strong hive), cleaning up the honey supers for the summer and moving the bees to friends fields. There will instruction on what you see inside a hive, best practices for opening hives, lifting frames, closing the hive, adding more boxes etc. When comfortable you will do some inspections on your own. Maintain records of the hive health. If there is extra time help with cleaning up some gardens and planting bee friendly plants could be done as well. There is some lifting when working with hives but we do a 2 person lift and there shouldn't be any more than 40 pounds to be lifted at anytime.

    volunteers will not be involved in selling at the markets/the business

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double bed in private room, shared bath. Wifi available. Since it is rural, most meals will be taken with host .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rural area but there are hiking trails and waterfalls and towns 20 minutes away for shopping or sightseeing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 427647294272