Enjoy the beautiful Aran Islands and help me with cooking and diverse projects in Connacht, Ireland



Favourited 119 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    Hi everybody,
    I have a Workaway staying here in my cottage and we are busy on a project to restore another old cottage nearby where we will have a glasshouse and garden.
    We need another Workaway who can help with cooking and some other projects. We have high standards with the food so we are looking for someone who can bake (eg we have sour dough), cook and use the local produce particularly fish and seafood and use produce from our garden.
    You will have your own private room.
    We are beside the villlage and ferry port a few minutes walk to the shops, pier, and nearby beach.
    We enjoy fresh produce from the garden and fish and excellent seafood from the sea, all complimented by a nice selection of wines from our cellar.
    I originate from the island and have returned after some years on the mainland and traveling. Marvin from the UK is a Workaway and this is his second year joining me. We get on with things very well together and so it is a relaxed house.
    We are busy on the project all day and need some help - a few hours per day from someone who in particular likes to cook.
    There are other Workaways and international people here on the island and we all socialise together. So there is lots of activity.
    Kind regards and happy traveling.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will be immersed in Irish culture.

  • Help


    I and Another Workaway are busy all day on the new glasshouse and cottage project. We need help from another Workaway for the cooking, and building if you can help

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    It is a cottage. I live here with Workaway Marvin. There are 3 bedrooms so you will have your own private room.
    A bicycle is also available. We will eat together. I will buy the food. I enjoy cooking too. I fish and gather food from the seashore. Together with food that we grow we have nice meals and there is a stocked wine cellar.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to see and explore on the island.
    A good holiday and festival scene is going on all summer.
    It is easy to meet and make friends because we are on an island with a friendly atmosphere.
    There are other workaways in the local hostel and I meet them all the time. I will introduce you to many.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have very good reliable WiFi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes please

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 427183292834