Learn about photography, garden design and more in the shadow of the Canadian Rockies

Country

Canada

Favourited 107 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    74

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Available dates:
    Hello everyone - looks like we're booked for the 2019 season.
    We will update available dates if we have any cancellations.

    Welcome to our little slice of heaven! Julie and I (Pete) are slowly renovating our house and landscaping the 6 acre garden to make this (early) retirement home the place of our dreams. Along with our Alaskan Sled Dog, Loki, and Daisy and Mario, the cats, we would like to invite you to join us for a summer in the shadow of the Canadian Rocky Mountains.

    We are located 7.5 km south of the town of Golden with the Rockies a stone's throw to the east and the Purcell Range of the Columbia Mountains just across the valley. For runners and mountain bikers we are in the perfect location - 500 m from the Mountain Shadows trail system and 4 km from Moonraker Trail system. With 5 National Parks within an hour of our front door Workawayers have access to some of the world's best hiking. We are both active runners and hikers and would love to show you 'the neighborhood'. Also of note, last summer saw a local project putting a number of sport climbs basically overlooking our back yard!

    Our big projects this year are fourfold:
    1) Finishing the exterior of the house and barn - mainly wood siding repairs and staining
    2) Getting a good start on some fence and outdoor living space construction - too much to finish this year!
    3) Continue with our landscaping and organic vegetable growing - lots of 'yard tidying' and keeping an eye on the veg patch.
    4) Building a tiny home - foundation already in place; just waiting for the snow to go and we can start building upwards.

    Julie has some, limited French, German and Dutch understanding, and Pete knows both English and Canadian fluently!

    We are aware that you are in Canada to see the sights and have some fun - and we will do the best we can to make sure that your stay is super enjoyable! With this in mind, the '5 days of 5 hours work per week' will be very fluid and weather dependent - the better the weather, the less likely we are to be doing the work, and the more likely we are to be out on the trails.

    We are not in the town of Golden itself! We do have two vehicles so we can assist with your 'local' travels, but cannot act as 'taxi service'. When we say 'local' we mean we are happy to take you on our hiking trips up to three hours drive away!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Peter is a professional interpretive guide and would love to share his knowledge of the area with workawayers. Julie and Peter are also developing their professional photography portfolios and would love to share their knowledge of the best of the Rockies and area with likeminded artists. Julie also does acrylic and watercolour painting . . .

    As a retired university lecturer, Peter loves to research and teach - if the workawayer has an artistic, cultural or natural history project they are working on Pete would love to get involved and assist in anyway he can.

    Julie's academic background is in garden design and can teach workawayers about both local gardening and the plants native to our region.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of our needs are for people who are happy to get their hands dirty and don't mind a bit of manual work:
    Completion of a really big, three-level, barbecue deck
    Completing build on tiny house.
    For artistic workers - inspire us and we might follow your lead building garden 'sculptures'!
    Planting perennial plants to naturalize our pasture into wildlife/insect forage meadows
    Planting/maintaining organic vegetable garden
    Tidying deadfall from property onto bonfire pile - having barbecue and drinks around the bonfire!
    Repairing house (cedar) and barn (pine) siding with rough fir battens and staining.
    Repairing/building fences

    Carpentry skills are an asset, but not a necessity.
    Vehicle an asset, but not a necessity.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English - very limited French, German, Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will have their own bedroom (queensize bed, two wardrobes - see photo) in the lower level of the house. They will have their own full bathroom (see photo) and will share laundry facilities. The lower level 'office' has been converted into a media room for our workawayers if they desire a little 'alone time.'.

    We have built a small 'crossfit' type gym with both indoor and outdoor components for those who wish to maintain their training fitness . . .

    Couples preferred. If two 'friends', we do have a second guest bedroom on the main floor, but we would rather keep that room available for visiting friends - however, I am sure we can work something out.

    Julie and I are both gluten and dairy free (medical not 'fashion' reasons) so we need to be very careful in the kitchen. We envision sharing the shopping/cooking/washing up duties but are happy to work out other, preferred, kitchen arrangements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Golden is
    ~3 hours west of Calgary
    ~1.5 hours west of Banff
    ~8 hours east of Vancouver

    Golden has a great outdoor community and we can help workawayers find likeminded locals to share their outdoor pastimes - running, hiking, climbing, mountain biking.

    Golden has a great live music community and we can help workawyers find likeminded locals to share musical jam sessions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 426796522227