Help with house renovation and babysitting in the heart of Rotterdam, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 92 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    366

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Dutch-Russian couple, Bas and Oksana, living in Rotterdam. We have a daughter who is a very active and social toddler.
    Oksana works full time while Bas is a freelancer who stays at home with the child most of the time. He could use some assistance in taking care of the child as well as everyday chores. We also have some unfunished renovation (small pain work mostly) that needs to be finished.

    We live on the 15th floor close to the centre of the city with a marvelous view. We enjoy traveling and cultural exchange and have been quite active in the couch surfing community - both hosting and and surfing (that is actually how we met!). We are also orgznizing events in our city for the members of expat community, including international dinners we host at our place. We both love cooking!
    We have two cute ginger cats - so please keep this in mind if you are allergic.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Oksana is a professional teacher of English so she can help you with language skills, Bas can also teach you Dutch. We are happy to show you around the beautiful city of Rotterdam and other Dutch towns.
    Bas is a professional photographer so you can get some great tips from him - as well as some great pictures reminding you of your time with us.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Oksana is working full time and Bas needs help around the house. Bas has a lot of great ideas and capabilities but he lacks concentration and direction being an adult with ADHD and Asperger’s. You will help him with everyday house chores and taking care of the child. If you have some experience in painting and carpentry you could help with finishing minor renovations.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two room apartment with a huge guest bed in the living room. The house is located just 2 minutes away from the metro station, 15 minutes (transport or bike) from the Rotterdam railway station (which is 25 minutes away from the international airport).
    You will be eating with us.
    Please note it's a non-smoking household - you can smoke on the public balcony or outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have enough time off to explore the city or go to nearby towns. There are amazing beaches within the reach of the public transportation (or bike - if you are good at it:) Amsterdam is just about 50 minutes away from Rotterdam by the fast train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 426681838443