Experience multi cultural environment helping out on my lovely small holding in Barril de Alva, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an early retired teacher who moved from Lisboa to the countryside into a small familly farm, composed of a beautiful vivenda from the 60´s surrounded by 1ha of land. I have a daughter living in Berlin who sometimes comes with her art friends for workshops. I am ready to receive working visitors from all parts of the world in a reciprocal respectful way. My childhood was spent here, I know places and people both portuguese and foreigners. From the windows of the building one can have a beautiful perspective of the magnificent serra do Açor, getting green and greener after the big fires. The village is in the centre of Portugal, near Coimbra, Viseu, Guarda (60km) and close to historical villages and farming sites, both owned by portuguese or foreigners - who in themselves are a vivid vision of the alternative ways of life that Portugal offers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If the working visitor is interested in learning or practising portuguse s/he is in the right spot for the host was a language teacher many years. Learning portuguese recipes and ways of cooking including the use of traditional ovens will be almost natural if one likes food. The closeby Waldorf school creates an opportunity to engage with this kind of method, interacting with teachers and students in an organized way. Dancers can also be introduced or practice contemporary dance ,by donation at a local centre. The region has been welcoming artists with many skilld and working visitors can also network with them... they love it!

  • Help

    Help

    I prefer longer to shorter stays. Longer I mean from 1 to 2 months, eventually three. Minimum stay two weeks.
    I am interested in working visitors from March to end of November. Must be responsible adults since sometimes they will be alone in the vivenda.
    In 2019 the main tasks will be related to house maintenance, specially painting, general maintenance and, eventually as an helping hand in the installation of climatization (undiferentiated help). Small scale farming, wood cutting and bits and pieces. BUT WORK IS TO BE DONE.
    If you are willing to be a working visitor with me and enjoy all plus below message me,,,

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, French and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bedroom in the vivenda. Ordinary or vegetarian food. Use of kitchen for common or separate meals. Free access to all property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    All working visitors can choose from a variety of experiences depending on their interests.If one is keen on nature there is much to explore, including river beaches in the nearby... If preferences go to country life choices vary from traditional farming and animal breading to multicultural experiences, including traditional, alternative and second and markets. If the interest involves community life one can start by learning about the Waldorf School in the village or visit historical towns full of vernacular architecture and life and contemporary activities. Longer travels can take you to more complex towns or even to the capital (3,30 hours away by bus). If the working visitor is interested in learning or practising portuguse s/he is in the right spot for the host was a language teacher many years.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Decoration detail
Bedroom
Side view of the building (bedroom windows)
Entrée

Host ref number: 426339644926