Help needed to complete dry stone walls and fencing. Stay with a family in SE Kelowna, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    192

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help needed in Sept and early October.

    We are a homeschooling family of 4 living on 12 acres in SE Kelowna. We are very sporty, tennis, horse riding, skiing in the final stages of building our house. We would love some help with the heavy work of landscaping, fencing, and creating paddocks for our horses. Experience with large machinery would be an asset. You would stay in a suite in our home with bedroom, ensuite and lounge. Our property backs onto the Myra Canyon Provincial Park, close to the Kettle Valley Railway route. Masses of outdoor activities, walking, mountain biking, and only 20 minutes from the city centre, lake and beaches.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a British family who moved to Canada 6 years ago. We homeschool our son and daughter.

    Kelowna is located about 250 miles east of Vancouver in the Okanagan Valley which is well known for fruit growing. Urban and rural; nature and culture; playtime and downtime: Kelowna isn’t just one destination. It’s a whole bunch of them, located in one uniquely beautiful place. While you're in Kelowna check out the energetic downtown and beautiful waterfront boardwalk. Go on a tour of the many local Okanagan wineries, craft breweries, cideries, and distilleries. Hit the trails by bike, visit the historic Myra Canyon Trestles, or hike to the top of a mountain. Relax by the lake at one of the many beaches or take to the water for endless lake activities. Looking for farm fresh food? Visit the farms, orchards, markets, or many local restaurants for delicious seasonal products grown right here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are in the final stages of finishing off our home. We started with a piece of land with trees and rocks and cleared a site, drilled a well, blasted some rocks and built a house. We are now finishing off the siding, fencing paddocks, landscaping the garden and building a rock wall. If you are a couple one of you could help with cooking the occasional meal and bread making instead.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would stay in a guest suite in our home which has a twin bedded room, en-suite shower room and separate lounge. The bedroom and lounge have 180 degree views of the city and lake. You will eat mainly organic meals with our family. Wifi is available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are non-smokers and live in a an area which is at high risk of wildfires so we would prefer non-smokers or request that you do not smoke on the property.
    We have 4 horses, 2 dogs, a blind cat and chickens.
    Our son is 16 loves tennis and skiing. Our 12 year old daughter loves drawing, painting, making things and riding her pony.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 425318214826