Help me renovate my old families houses in San Juan and Bayamón!

Country

Puerto Rico

Favourited 157 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    4297

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hellooooooouuu

    I'm Alex an urban artist/Uber driver living in Puerto Rico.

    For the last 16 years I have travel the world staying in nice hotels, pensions, dormitories, students hostel, you name it. I've been around and had many good experiences.

    I would like to create an accommodation where travelers could enjoy the privacy of their own space and still get to interact with a host, other travelers, the location and of course the good price that they'll get for their room.

    Now that I'm finally back home I'm working on it and that's why I'm here at workaway. I'm renovating the house where I grew up to transform it in a colorful, good vibe, warm library/guesthouse. The books that my mom, my sister, my uncle and I have collected over the years are gonna be available for the workaways and the guest.

    Soooo I split up the profile in:

    1. A NUTSHELL
    2. BACKGROUND INFO AND MORE

    ------—----—----—---------------------------------------------
    IN A NUTSHELL:

    *️️️️️️️️️One month minimun stay (with a two weeks probationary period)

    *️️️️️️️️️You get your own private room with a fan and a twin (or full) bed. This room is under renovation (like all the house)

    *️️️️️️️️️You get a bike to use during your stay (we ask for a deposit for the bike and we only have one bike)

    *️️️️️️️️️We provide basic groceries (pasta, rice, beans, tomate sauce, can sausage, potatoes)

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️There are no minimun hours expected. We work with tasks. We assign a list of task at the beginning of the week that have to be completed in two or three days. What u do with the rest of the week is up to you! :D

    *️️️️️️️️️One of the task is being a live in co host. You welcome the guest, keep the Airbnb organized, flip rooms, cleaning and maintenance of the household.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Because now there are two houses you may have a room in Bayamon, Santurce or both. The rooms are subject to availability. You may have to move to differents rooms during your stay.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ The rooms of the Airbnb are private rooms (no dorms) with one full bed. The bathroom and kitchen are shared with the guest.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We need people with experience in costumer service, construction, art students, carpenters, organizers, clean freaks to help us setting up the rooms and organizing the library etc

    Work experience in any field is a must.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Is very important that you complete the task on time. Failure to complete the task or to complete it in a poorly way may affect and in extreme cases end your stay*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    *️️️️️The task can be cleaning, painting, organizing, flipping rooms, check in guest, art craft projects, gardening etc
    ----—----—-----—--------------------------------------------
    BACKGROUND INFO AND MORE

    Now there are two houses that need love.

    One is in Bayamón and the other one is in Santurce, San Juan in Puerto Rico.

    The house in Bayamón is a concrete house in the middle of an 'urbanización' (like suburbs). This house is surrounded by a bakery, has a small park 3 min away, a lot of chinchorros (Puertorrican bars) and restaurants in a walking distance.

    The surrounding area has a lot of trees, fresh air, families and its peaceful. Perfect for a break of the city but still super close to the it. There are almost no tourist in this area.

    This house needs work with the roof, painting, organizing and it would be nice to design something cool and low maintenance for the front garden.

    The Santurce house is a typical wooden puertorrican house with a front and a backyard, 3 rooms and a bathroom. Its in Santurce one of the main neighborhoods of San Juan , like 30 minutes walk away from the beach, 15min in a bicycle and 7 min by car.

    It's an old neighborhood the Barriada Figueroa. The Cervecería Corona (Corona Beer Factory) used to be at the beginning of the neighborhood. Most of the male population of the barriada worked at the factory for many years until it close down more than twenty years ago. The building is still there and now part of it is rented for other purposes.

    The santurce house was abandon for almost 8 years so It needs works with almost everything. Painting, cleaning, gardening, woodwork, construction... you name it.

    The one in Bayamón, because of the roof, is having problems with water filtering through the walls. It also needs a coat of paint inside and outside of the house.

    Feel free to text me for more photos of the house!

    Description of the Santurce house:
    Three rooms, the newly renovated restroom, kitchen/living room with tv and Netflix (still a work in progress), fridge, electric stove and wi fii. There's no washing machine, a/c, closets or tv.....yet.

    Description of the Bayamón House:
    Three rooms, one restroom, kitchen/living room with 44' plasma TV and Netflix, fridge, electric stove and wi fii. Washing machine and closets.

    We prefer people with previous job experience and able to follow directions.

    The task are mostly cleaning, organizing the house, painting walls, gardening, sometimes laying tiles, cleaning the front and backyard of leaves, planting and if u know about construction or carpentry that's a super plus!!!! :D I try to organize the task so it takes a day or two to complete.

    We encourage workaways to be independent.

    If this is your first Workaway experience, the first time that you live abroad or the first time that you are on your own, this workaway maybe not be for you. We want workaways with experience and independent.

    Once you are done with your task you are free to explore, go camping, take a bus to the other side of the island, use the Workaway app to find others Workaways, sleep at the beach, skydive, rent a car to explore the island for 3 days, do whatever you want! I'll kidnap you every time that I can for tours or give u a ride anywhere when there's a sit available. I'll give u at least a 8 hours heads up!

    English or spanish is a most.

    Feel free to contact me for additional questions!

    Take Care, Alex

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Practice spanish, free acomodation 30 minute walk from the beach (or in the suburbs) , free internet, basic groceries, bicycle and free tours or transportation when avaliable.

    Sometimes I provide a bottle of Bacardi rum too!! XD

    I'm an uber driver so when I'm avaliable I can provide free transportation through the island.

  • Help

    Help

    The main task is being a live-in co host and cleaning and maintenance of the bnb (it has only two rooms).

    The task may also include painting, organizing, a gardening, help with the roof, etc

    The houses were empty for a long time so all they need its looooove!!

    And painting and cleaning and all of the above XD

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room with shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Its a tropical island and you will be staying in a private room for free!

    Beaches, museums, street art, theathers, old san juan is less than 30 min away (by bicycle or car).

    Here in Puerto Rico everyday is a perfect day to go to the beach. It's always sunny, the ocean is a pretty clear blue and the water is warm.

    There are kite surfing, snorkeling, sightseeing, shopping, camping, salsa concerts, reggaeton, la placita bars, paint, surf, the rainforrest, take a ferry to Vieques and check out the bioluminescense bay or just enjoy the beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    There are no minimum hours expected. We work with tasks. (max 25 hrs)

After! One of the rooms.
Before Workaway






Host ref number: 424278743862