Live on a sailing yacht and help convert an old freighter that is used as a houseboat in Amsterdam, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

updated  

Favourited 1322 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    47  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living on a big houseboat in the eastern harbour district (oostelijk havengebied) in Amsterdam. This is a nice and modern part of the city, only 10 mins by bike from the city center. Workawayers stay on our sailing yacht which is alongside the houseboat. We are looking for help finishing renovations on the the houseboat and repainting the aluminium sailing yacht.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be in the middle of life in Amsterdam with a dutch family living on a houseboat. About as Dutch as its gets;-) You can learn about living on- and building of- houseboats and sailing yachts. We also like to set the world to rights. We have been travelling on the sailing yacht as a family for two years and being back in Holland we missed meeting new and interesting people from over the world. Workaway is a great way for us to still feel a bit like traveling and getting to meet new people!

  • Help

    Help

    We have converted a river barge into a houseboat. Most of the conversion is now done and we are looking for help finishing it and doing maintenance. Finishing is mainly painting and carpentry work. Maintenance is cleaning bilges, scrubbing decks, painting outside etcetera. There is also renovation and maintenance work to do on the sailing yacht. We could also use help setting up a (wordpress?) website in english. If you are interested in joining us, do shoot me a message and we can stay in touch on planning. From around the middle of may we will probably be taking the sailing boat out of the water to repaint and fair the hull using epoxy.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, German, English, and some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation we offer is our sailing yacht which is alongside the houseboat. On workdays we have lunch and coffee breaks together with our workawayers. Other meals are not included. You can make them yourself in the sailing boats kitchen. The sailing boat has a heads (toilet) but no shower, you can use ours on the houseboat. Same goes for washer and dryer. We prefer non smokers. Generally there are 2-3 workawayers on the yacht. Couples normally have the boat for themselves.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Of course there are plenty of fun things to do in and around Amsterdam. We'll have a bike available for you to get around. We are looking for non-smokers and we do not want drugs and drunks around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 days a week, 5 hours a day





























Host ref number: 423177578889