Assist Burmese migrants to get the basics they need in Mae Sot, Thailand

Country

Thailand

new host  

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm an Aussie with a background in tech and business consulting. I'm now living in Mae Sot after selling my companies. I didn't intend to end up here; I just did... there's a lot of help that's needed here for the thousands of Burmese migrants seeking refuge in Thailand. While learning Thai for one year I'll be doing as much as I can to assist people in the community.

    During the last 8 months, I have connected with the Burmese refugee/migrant community and have realised there's a lot of work to be done. I've found that grassroots connections with families and kids have been effective in helping this group of people - getting the kids to school regularly; teaching them about dental hygiene and care because of previously poor dental education and care; teaching English; installing solar panels on homes to provide a renewable electricity source; providing protection and care for refugee kids living on the street....and so the list goes on.

    But I need help in doing more.

    For the right person, I will pay for you to get to Mae Sot, Thailand... provide a scooter, phone AND pay you a wage on top of the free accomodation. The right person is someone who speaks Thai and English, can stay for 6 months+, and is seriously wanting to commit to building something awesome in Mae Sot.

    (If you have the right skills and enthusiasm and 6 months doesn't suit, then I'd still love to hear from you and see what we could work out.)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm in daily contact with families, schools, and local organisations in Mae Sot assisting wherever I can. You'll get first-hand insight / experience with Burmese migrants and the issues that affect them. You won't be working with an organisation and so there are not restrictions on what we can and can't do other than our own moral compass. You won't be working on a shoestring budget; I have the funding to implement pretty much anything we want to implement.

  • Help

    Help

    The small things: Teaching English, buying items for the house, washing clothes, running errands, basic home help, assisting kids with homework, arranging items to be fixed or jobs to be done e.g. mowing lawn, rubbish removal, arranging transport etc.

    And the big things: there's lots of ideas I have that I'd like assistance with that could benefit this community, such as develop a food card program, create an app to link individual philanthropists to individuals / families in Mae Sot, implement a remote teaching / tutoring service, design a program to educate refugees/migrants in dental care, build an app where foreigners can up-cycle their rubbish to be used by those less fortunate... so.. business plans, website design and coding, crowdfunding, etc

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, learning Thai

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I'll simply rent a furnished apartment in Mae Sot for you for the time you are here. Think of a cheap rental with wifi... I'll get something clean, with AC and internet.

    Breakfast, lunch and dinner to your liking :-)
    Thai, Burmese or Western cuisine

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have a car and scooter and if you have an international licence then you're welcome to use the scooter as required, and the car depending on what you need it for.

    There's some great waterfalls scattered around the area, markets, and Mae Sot is right on the border which is great for Visa runs, or visiting Myanmar.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours a week

Host ref number: 422347289599